HIS: History Research Guide: Home
Off-Campus Access
You can access KentLINK, OhioLINK, and the Research Databases from any computer with access to the World Wide Web. Due to licensing restrictions, you will be required to authenticate yourself as a valid University user to access some resources.
KSU Proxy allows you to connect to the campus network as if you were on campus. When prompted you will simply need to enter your Flashline username and password. Refer to the Off Campus Access section of the Library home page.
You can also access resources with OhioLink Authentication. When accessing a database, resource or requesting materials you will be asked for your University affiliation. After selecting Kent State University you will be asked for your name and banner ID #. If requesting a physical library item don't forget to select the "pick-up" location. This is your preferred campus library. OhioLink Authentication generally logs you on for a 2 hour period of time.
Key Library Web Sites
Welcome!
This guide provides an introduction to the resources available for research in history. It includes both primary sources (such as diaries, letters, newspaper articles, photographs, government documents and first hand accounts) and secondary sources (including both books and articles) written by historians and others some time after the events occurred.
Select the tabs acorss the top of the page to learn about different types of sources.
Getting Started
A good way to begin your research is by reading summaries of your topic in an encyclopedia, handbook, or other reference book. Such summaries can introduce you to important people, events, and issues in history and in historical scholarship. Different libraries will have different reference books with information on your topic. You can find these books by using the library catalog, browsing in the literature section, or consulting the reference librarian. Other resources are available online.
Oxford Reference Online - History: Provides information on history, politics, literature, and art from more than 100 reference works.
History Databases: A listing of history related databases available through Kent State University.
You can access either online from Kent State University Libraries’ list of research databases.
Use KSU Proxy for off-campus access to these resources.
Identifying Research Questions
Developing good research questions is an important part of the research process. It helps you define the direction of your research and gives you a way of evaluating the information you find.
Sometimes, the original question or problem can be divided into smaller questions or problems that make your work more manageable. Sometimes the information you find changes or refines your question.
Subject Guide
Contact Us
Send library-related questions to Salem Campus Library staff by e-mail, or take advantage of the online reference services listed below. The Library's direct phone number is 330-337-4213.
Maegan Richards
Coordinator, Academic Learning Commons (EL & Salem)
330-337-4211 / Campus 74211
mrichar4@kent.edu
