- America: History and Life
Provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American History in Video
Online collection of video available for the study of American history allowing students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- American National Biography Online
Covers more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Includes illustrations and links to select web sites. Also includes articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History, which gives context to the lives included in ANB Online. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, b
- American Periodicals Series Online
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information, including a link to library holdings, about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.
- Congress and the Nation Online
Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. The online edition series combines the same content from the print volumes with a number of electronic features and functionality to make navigating this immense amount of content a smooth experience.
- CQ Historic Documents Series Online
Includes the full-text of each of the annual volumes of the CQ Historic Documents set. The volume for each year includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of that year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- CQ Press Electronic Library - all search
Searches all our CQ Press electronic resource subscriptions at one time.
- Declassified Documents Reference System, U.S.
Provides access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covers events from the Cold War to the Viet Nam war and later. Valuable material for researching international relations, American Studies, United State foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism, and more.
- European views of the Americas, 1493-1750
An index to European works relating to the Americas, which were written prior to 1750. The database is based on “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”
Full-text archive of Harper's Weekly, a national publication during the American Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Contains illustrations, articles, advertisements, and editorials. Search by date, keyword, literature genre, and individuals' standing in society or occupation.
- Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables
- Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850
The Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints describes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, from the earliest in 1796 through 1850.
- New York Times - Historical
Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format. NOTE: if you are looking for current New York Times content, please consult either LexisNexis Academic
or the New York Times
- Sharpe Online Reference - all titles
Includes full-text, searchable versions of seven reference encyclopedias: Colonial America; Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era; Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age; Postwar America; Encyclopedia of American Folklife; Encyclopedia of American Social Movements; Social Issues in America. These titles can be searched simultaneously or reviewed individually.
- Vital Statistics on American Politics Online
Vital Statistics on American Politics is a rich and authoritative resource of data offering more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788, including: congressional and gubernatorial elections; party competition at the national, regional, and state levels; public approval of the president, Congress, and the two major political parties; the federal budget and the national debt; and election information.