LibGuides: Fashion Resources: Fashion Communication, Journalism, Photography, Marketing &amp; Media: Databases & Internet Resources: Fashion Journalism, Marketing & Media

Online Resources: Fashion Industry News & Media

BoF: The Business of Fashion
This site provides daily fashion news and industry insight. While access to all material requires professional membership, fashion student's are able to register for free membership through sponsorship by TopShop.
California Apparel News
This is a subscription site, however, some material is accessible to visitors. California Apparel News' website includes brief news and fashion articles, a blog and includes a trade show calendar.
Digiday
This sites provides news on the media and marketing industries, with many articles touching on the fashion industry. While a subscription is required to access some content, a great deal is available for free.
Drapers
A UK-based fashion industry news site.
Fashionista
"Fashionista is a source of fashion news, criticism and career advice with a monthly readership of more than 2.5 million. As one of the most influential voices covering fashion, Fashionista is an agenda-setter for the industry as well as influential fashion-focused consumers."
The Fashion Law
"The Fashion Law is an independent source of objective fashion law and business analysis, and serves as a community for lawyers, business executives, fashion industry insiders, and students."
Glossy
Glossy (a branch of Digiday) is “media brand exploring the intersection of fashion and luxury through the lens of digital and tech.” While non-subscribers are limited in the number of articles they can read, they can sign up to receive free daily newsletter on the fashion industry.
Just-Style
Just-style is a news service and market research site for the apparel and textile industry. Access to much of the site is through paid subscription, however, access to a limited number of monthly articles and insight pieces may be gained by registering as a free user.
MPA: The Association of Magazine Media
"The Association of Magazine Media is the primary advocate and voice for the magazine media industry, driving thought leadership and game‐changing strategies to promote the industry’s vitality, increase its revenues and grow market share." While some information is available only to members, visitors can consult past reports showing magazine rankings and many current facts about the industry.
New York Magazine: Fashion
New York magazine features extensive on-line fashion resources including news articles, blogs, and an events calendar as well as topical videos and slideshows. Street style is highlighted in the well-known Look Book link which features photographic portraits and brief interviews with stylish New Yorkers. Click on the Shows, Designers or Models links and search alphabetically to bring up helpful profile information as well as runway photographs.
The Robin Report
The Robin Report is a consulting business focusing on strategies in the new-world and old-world retail sectors and related consumer product industries. Visitors may wish search topics for frequent posts or download podcasts on the state of retailing.
What's New in Publishing
This site covers topics related to the publishing industry, including many articles on aspects of the fashion media landscape. Viewers may choose to subscribe to a regular newsletter.
WWD: Women's Wear Daily
This is a membership site, however, a few areas of the site may be accessed without subscription. KSU Fashion Design and Merchandising students and faculty have access through a limited number of seats.

Databases Resources: Fashion Media

Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Watch educational streaming videos.

Claritas Prizm Premier
"Claritas PRIZM Premier is a set of geo-demographic segments for the United States, developed by Claritas Inc. It is a commonly used customer segmentation system for marketing in the United States." While full access to the website requires membership, visitors may explore the customer segmentation and look up zip codes for a snapshot of the customers segments in the area.

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on communication and mass media topics.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
View free films, videos, and documentaries with this by-request streaming video service for educational institutions. The Kanopy platform may not be supported on some devices, such as Chromebooks and mobile devices.
You must download the Kanopy App in order to stream videos on a mobile device.

Launch Metrics
Launch Metrics is a "marketing platform and data analytics business designed to help Fashion, Luxury and Cosmetics professionals discover, activate and measure the Voices that matter for their brands." The website does offers visitors a number of useful articles, ebooks and podcasts focused on industry media, marketing and branding.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Fashion Resources: Fashion Communication, Journalism, Photography, Marketing & Media: Databases & Internet Resources: Fashion Journalism, Marketing & Media

Online Resources: Fashion Industry News & Media

Databases Resources: Fashion Media

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information