Vet Tech: Welcome
Start here
You will need an array of information types for your courses.
In this guide you'll find general to technical information.
General care and issues for any type of animal can be found in many book resources, including e-books. Use the KentLINK tab to search for information about the animal you are researching.
Case studies, technical and medical information are found in professional journals. Use the KentLINK tab and/or the databases tab to find more in-depth information. You may also want view the "Veterinary Journals by Title" tab to view holdings of current veterinary journals or use the search box at the top of the page to search for specific titles, such as the Journal of Exotic Pet Medicine.
Guide Overview Tutorial
Welcome VetTech students!
If you have questions please feel free to contact us at the library for more help at 330-308-7471.
You can also e-mail any of the library staff.-Cherie Bronkar - cbronkar@kent.edu, Tammie Beaber - tbeaber@kent.edu
To learn how to search and develop a topic using KentLINK (Discovery@Kent) visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_vfn1ef4bc
Off-Campus Access to Databases
USING THE LIBRARY’S RESOURCES FROM OFF-CAMPUS: INTRODUCING KSU PROXY
Off-campus (or remote) access to the University Libraries’ electronic resources is now provided through a new service known as KSU Proxy. KSU Proxy is replacing the KSU VPN for remote library access. KSU Proxy allows Library users to securely connect to databases, electronic journals, ebooks and streaming media services without installing complicated third-party software. When you attempt to access library content from off campus, you’re prompted to enter your FlashLine username and password after which you’re connected. It’s that easy!
Research Databases
- VetTech Program RoadmapThis roadmap is a recommended semester-by-semester plan of study for this major. However, courses and milestones designed as critical (!) must be completed in the semester listed to ensure a timely graduation.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowSearch bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage dates back to 1970.
- BIOSIS Previews (including Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowFind articles covering the life science disciplines from nearly 7,000 journals.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Where to find VetTech DVDs
Your instructor may require you to view DVDs on various topics in veterinary technology. Librarians can help you find the video you need. DVDs that have been placed on reserve can be viewed in the library. A list of audiovisual resources available at the campus library can be found here.