Vet Tech: Databases
Off-Campus Access to Databases
Resources licensed by the Library require that users authenticate themselves as valid University users. There are presently two authentication methods available (proxy access is now obsolete, and should be turned off in your browser).
The KSU Cisco VPN allows you to connect to the campus network from a remote location as if you were on campus. First you must perform a simple, one-time installation. After that, run the VPN program (there will be an icon on your computer's desktop), using your Flashline ID and password to login, to connect to the campus network and access any restricted resource (such as a research database or an online journal).
OhioLINK Authentication Service - OhioLINK Authentication Service allows access only to OhioLINK resources. This includes most research databases and electronic journals. Authentication requires your name and Kent State ID Number (Banner ID). A session times out after two hours.
How do I know if we own a specific periodical (magazine or journal)?
If you're not in a database, but you know the journal your article is in, try:
- Our E-Journal Finder to see if we own the journal electronically. Be sure to look at the dates available!
- OhioLink's Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Can I get an article that the library doesn't own?
Visit our article request form to request an article Kent State does not own. We'll see if we can find it for you at another library.
Useful Databases and Resources
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowSearch bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage dates back to 1970.
- BIOSIS Previews (including Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowFind articles covering the life science disciplines from nearly 7,000 journals.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 350 journals and e-books in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, natural resources, geography and more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
- MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
How do I search databases for articles?
EBSCOHost Tutorials
EBSCOHost is a platform that we use to search many databases, including Agricola, Academic Search Complete, Environment Complete. These tutorials will teach you tips that you can use in any EBSCOHost database.
Note: Although these tutorials have sound, they are closed-captioned and can be used without audio.
- Advanced Search - Learn how to use limiters to get a great search in any EBSCOHost database.
- Results List - You've done a search - now do some limiting in the results list.
- Using Search History - Learn how to save searches, combine searches, edit searches you've already done, and more!
- My EBSCOHost - Did you know that you can sign in to save searches, article lists, and more? Learn how!
- Mobile - Want to search using your phone? Learn how!
Database Tutorials
The following tutorials are for the tools and tricks of specific databases.
- MEDLINE: Searching - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- BiosisPreviews (Web of Science ISI): Search Tips - This tutorial has sound, but closed-captioning is available so audio is not required.