Freehand Sketching in the Architectural Environment by 
Pencil Sketching by
The complete, classic guide to the art of pencil sketching Portable. Erasable. Inexpensive. No other single drawing tool is as versatile as the pencil. Through the centuries, generations of artists have used it to work out ideas, study form, and develop fundamental skills that are crucial to an artist's training. Pencil Sketching has taught thousands of beginners the basic principles and techniques of pencil sketching. Carefully revised to meet the needs of today's artists, this edition features easy-to-follow instructions, dozens of new illustrations, and more-everything you need to explore the amazing potential of the pencil and learn to sketch with confidence. Techniques: shading, texture, value, line, strokes . . . Materials: pencils, papers, accessories . . . Skills: observation, recording, composition, sketching from memory . . . Subjects: trees, landforms, water, architecture, cityscapes . . . and more!
The Urban Sketching Handbook: Architecture and Cityscapes by
Award-winning illustrator Gabriel Campanario first introduced his approach to drawing in The Art of Urban Sketching, a showcase of more than 500 sketches and drawing tips shared by more than 100 urban sketchers around the world. Now, he drills down into specific challenges of making sketches on location, rain or shine, quickly or slowly, and the most suitable techniques for every situation, in The Urban Sketching Handbook series. It's easy to overlook that ample variety of buildings and spaces and the differences from city to city, country to country. From houses, apartments and shopping malls to public buildings and places of worship, the structures humans have created over the centuries, for shelter, commerce, industry, transportation or recreation, are fascinating subjects to study and sketch. In The Urban Sketching Handbook: Architecture and Cityscapes, Gabriel lays out keys to help make the experience of drawing architecture and cityscapes fun and rewarding. Using composition, depth, scale, contrast, line and creativity, sketching out buildings and structure has never been more inspirational. This guide will help you to develop your own creative approach, no matter what your skill level may be today. As much as The Urban Sketching Handbook: Architecture and Cityscapes may inspire you to draw more urban spaces, it can also help to increase your appreciation of the built environment. Drawing the places where we live, work and play, is a great way to show appreciation and creativity.
Drawn to Design by
The book is a guide for students and teachers to understand the need for, the role of, and the methods and techniques of freehand analytical sketching in architecture. The presentation focuses on drawing as an approach to and phase of architectural design.The conceptual goal of this approach is to use drawing not as illustration or depiction, but as exploration.
Design Drawing by
This is a comprehensive introduction to drawing. It looks at the process of creation, aiming to show the basic cognitive processes that drive visual perception and expression, incorporating observation, memory, and rendering it into a creative whole. But the author sees drawing as a practical tool for formulating and working through design problems, showing how to apply visual thinking as a versatile tool for approaching design projects.
Freehand Sketching by
Even in the computer age, freehand sketching is the designer? most useful tool for notation, design exploration, and graphic communication. From basic skills to sketch construction using grids, frames, and shapes to the creation of tone, texture, color, and detail, and experimentation with digital rendering, Freehand Sketching helps you build your drawing skill and confidence through mastery of fundamentals. Carefully designed exercises guide you step by step in effective sketching in the studio and in the field. Also covered are helpful topics such as useful equipment, observation skills, framing and editing sketches, rendering people, and keeping a journal. An array of the author? lively sketches as well as examples from other architectural professionals fill the pages of Freehand Sketching, making this an ideal handbook for architecture and design students and all who wish to be more effective at visual communication.
Architectural Drawing by
This comprehensive text provides architecture students with a visual resource of design-drawing styles and techniques. It covers: tool fundamentals; lettering; orthographic and paraline drawing; representational sketching; linear perspective drawing; perspective view development; shadows; delineating and rendering entourage; diagramming; conceptual sketching; 3D modelling; and presentation formats. Visual examples place technical instruction in a professional practice context, enabling students to see and understand the powers of drawing. Examples are clearly presented and grouped in chapters according to drawing type. Work from a variety of noted architects, including Cesar Pelli, Michael Graves, and I.M. Pei is included.
Architectural Drawing by
A comprehensive compendium of architectural drawing types and methods, with over 1000 illustrations, this title has been updated throughout to reflect the widest range of techniques and styles (both hand drawing and computer generated drawing) by an impressive group of practising designers.
Freehand Drawing by
It covers basic tools, materials, and techniques for producing the rough sketch, the dimensioned sketch, and the final drawing and shows how to apply these to accurately render plans, elevations, and interior and exterior views.
Basic Perspective Drawing by
Moving logically from simple concepts to specific tools and methods, 'Basic Perspective Drawing' shows how to construct perspective views one step at a time, with illustrated examples that cover key parts of the process.
Freehand Sketching in the Architectural Environment by 
Composite Drawings by
This studio companion, filled with techniques and useful tips, offers step-by-step methods for preparing plan, elevation, section and axiometric drawings using pencil, pen and ink, colour media and air brush techniques. It gives easy to follow instructions to reveal how to achieve a total composition of individual drawing elements, also including a colour portfolio of composite drawings by internationally known architects.
Be sure to visit KentLINK to view more online resources about drawing and sketching!
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account