LibGuides: Health Disparities: Data, Statistics, and Government Information

Use Census Data to find National, State, County and Local Demographic Information

Data.Census.Gov
Type in the name of your community in the search box on the first page to get many of the facts and figures you need from numerous United States government surveys including the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey.
Data.Census.Gov Help
Help documents for using the Census website

National Center for Health Statistics

Find national morbidity and mortality statistics here!

National Center for Health Statistics
Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.
CDC FastStats
CDC Tuberculosis Data & Statistics
Includes a map with Ohio statistics!
CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Statistics
Syphilis, Chlamydia, Gonorrhea statistics.
CDC AIDS and HIV Statistics

Ohio Department of Health--Data & Statistics

The Ohio Department of Health resources provide vital statistics, morbidity, and mortality statistics for the counties in Ohio!

IMPORTANT NOTE!

Most of these resources are "interactive" and require that you click on tabs/menus or even create a chart or report to find exactly the data you need.

ODH: Explore Data & Stats
Start here to locate the tools you need!
Ohio Public Health Data Warehouse
Here is where you find birth, mortality, and cancer incidence data.
Chronic Disease Data and Publications
The CHRONIC DISEASE MAP GALLERY is particularly useful for county information! Check out the latest BRFSS Annual Report for state level assessments.
State of Ohio Health Facts
Everything from health conditions to healthcare system information to leading causes of death.
**Be sure to explore the county Community Health Profiles!

Even More Health Statistics

CDC-NCHS National Center for Health Statistics
Provides state and local data on chronic diseases, risk factors, and outcomes. Population health data, chronic disease surveillance indicators, comparison reports and more.
CDC.gov Data Catalog
Includes data on chronic diseases, environmental health, injury and violence, smoking and tobacco use, vaccinations, and much more.
Minority Population Profiles
Provided by the Office of Minority Health--part of the US Department of Health and Human Services. Includes profiles on: African American, American Indian/Alaska Native, Asian American, Hispanic/Latino, Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander populations.
CDC WONDER
Click on the "Topics" tab to access data on a wide variety of Public Health data and statistics. Includes chronic diseases, deaths, injury prevention, health promotion, behavior and health, occupational health, and more.
Diabetes Report Card 2021
Provided by the CDC, provides report pages including National and State Trends, National Diabetes Prevention Program, and more.
CDC Surveillance Resource Center-Interactive Database Systems
Continuously updated tools provide data on a variety of topics including but not limited to: child & adolescent health, chronic disease, disabilities, environmental health, health risk behaviors, injury, oral health, maternal & child health, and more.

Policy and Government Resources

Ohio Revised Code
The Ohio Legislature
Search for Ohio Senate and House bills.
Code of Federal Regulations
The CFR is the codification of general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by executive departments and agencies of the federal government.
Federal Register
Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Policies and Regulations
The HHS Regulations page covers topics such as health information technology standards, the Heath Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), additional laws and regulations, and policies and guidelines are covered.
Regulations.gov
Regulations.gov is an online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies. On this site you can:
• Search for a regulation, such as a proposed rule, final rule, or Federal Register (FR) notice
• Submit a comment on a regulation or to another comment
• Submit an application, petition, or adjudication document
• Sign up for e-mail alerts about a specific regulation
• Quickly access regulations that are popular, newly posted, or closing soon directly from the home page
• Subscribe to RSS feeds by agency of newly posted FR notices
U.S. Code
The United States Code is the codification of general and permanent U.S. laws by subject matter. The Code is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
U.S. Government Printing Office
The U.S. GPO provides publishing and dissemination services for official and authentic government publications to Congress, federal agencies, federal depository libraries, and the public.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Health Disparities: Data, Statistics, and Government Information

Use Census Data to find National, State, County and Local Demographic Information

National Center for Health Statistics

Find national morbidity and mortality statistics here!

Ohio Department of Health--Data & Statistics

Even More Health Statistics

Policy and Government Resources

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information