Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PAS 37010 - Research Methods in Pan-African Studies

Finding Articles

This is a selective list of databases which can be used for locating peer-reviewed journal articles. There are many other databases available, some of which may be more appropriate to your topic of interest.  To see the complete list, click the Alphabetical List of Databases link in the Other Databases box to the left.

  • If you are unsure what a peer-reviewed journal article is, click here
  • If you are unsure whether a journal you would like to use for this assignment is peer-reviewed, use the Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (listed here) to look up the journal.  The record will indicate if the journal is peer-reviewed.

Pan-African Studies databases

Getting the Article

Many of our databases will give you the full-text of the article, but that is not always the case.  If the full-text of the article is not available in the database you are looking at, try these options:

  • look for the FIND IT icon:  if the database does not have the full-text, you still might be able to get it from another of our resources.  If we have full-text available, FIND IT will lead you to it. 
  • if you already have a citation, you can check to see if we have a particular journal (in print or electronic full-text) by using the Journal Finder  Search by the journal name -- you will need to know the year, volume, issue and pages you need.
  • If we don't have an article in electronic full-text, but DO have it in print, you can request a copy be scanned and emailed to you.  You can find out more on the Article E-Delivery page.