LibGuides: Fashion Resources: Forecasting &amp; Design Research: Database & Internet Resources: Fashion Forecasting & Trend Research

Databases and Subscription Forecasting Services

Databases and subscriptions that will assist you in fashion trending and forecasting research.

WGSN This link opens in a new window
Explore long-term and seasonal fashion trend analysis, real time industry news, coverage of catwalks, trade shows and street fashion.
A personal account is required to download images. To create one, access the site while on campus. Click the login button and follow directions to create a new account using your FlashLine email address.

WWD.com (Women's Wear Daily)
- This link opens in a new window
WWD.com is the online version of Women's Wear Daily, a newspaper authority for the fashion retail industry. Viewers can access complete articles and images from the past 12 month's issues as well as many fashion show images. Access is limited to ten seats.

Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides research reports covering European, U.K., and U.S. consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.

Citing Forecasting Reports in APA: Citing a Fashion Snoops or WGSN Report
This tutorial by the FIT library gives instructions for citing Fashion Forecasting reports such as WGSN.

Online Fashion Forecasting & Consumer Trend Sites

Forecasting services are generally fee or membership-based, however, these sites provide some helpful free fashion forecasting and consumer trend resources.

Adobe Blog
The Adobe company's stock photo division publishes articles and reports on changing visual trends. Search for terms of interest such as 'trends,' 'fashion,' and 'design.'
Colour Hive Blog
Colour Hive is a color forecasting group and while most of its services are fee-based, viewers may wish to spend time on the free Colour Hive blog which offers, "updates on the most essential news, views and colour palettes, helping to keep you ahead of the crowd."
Cotton Incorporated, Trend Forecast
This trend forecasting publication, Color & Surface, by Cotton Inc. is free although users must complete a registration form in order to access. Multiple season are available through the Archive.
EDITED
"EDITED is a retail intelligence company headquartered in London with offices worldwide. The company produces real-time data analytics software intended for brands and retailers and monitors the retail market worldwide for apparel, homeware and beauty products." While it is a fee-based service, the EDITED blog provides articles on many aspects of apparel trends.
Euromonitor International
Euromonitor International provides resources on market and consumer trends. While many resources are fee-based, the site has a rich collection of free white papers and videos and visitors may also subscribe to their weekly podcasts.
Faith Popcorn's BrainReserve Trend Blog
Faith Popcorn's BrainReserve is a leading agency in identifying future consumer and lifestyle trends. While not all fashion focused, readers can enjoy interesting articles on consumer trends in their Trend Blog.
Getty Images
A stock photography agency, Getty Images often provides visual trend information articles in addition to a visual library of 80 million images (although use of images requires purchase).
Google Trends
Google Trends allows users to explore the Google terms that people are searching all over the world by country or time period. Users can see what is trending in real-time and compare searches with similar terms.
Intercolor, International Commission for Colour
Created in 1963, INTERCOLOR is a non-profit made up of organizations from 15 member countries "specializing in color coordination for the textile and fashion industries." INTERCOLOR members meet twice yearly to distill their research and create unified color forecasts. Although colorcards are not available, visitors may see the titles and subtitles of color forecasts as well as view small color swatches on the website.
Pattern Curator
"Pattern Curator is a trend service for color, print and pattern inspiration." While membership is required to access some material, many color and pattern mood boards for upcoming seasons are freely available and visitors can subscribe to a free newsletter.
Patternbank Trends
A good resource for pattern trends, although purchase is required for full seasonal access to reports.
Pinterest Predicts
Pinterest creates an annual trend report based increases in searched phrases over a given time period. Trends include fashions, interiors, events and lifestyles.
Stylus
Stylus is a trend analysis agency focusing on consumer trends across 20 industries. While most resources are fee-based, visitors can subscribe to their podcast and read insight briefs on particular topics.
Trend Tablet
Trend Tablet is a site by world-renowned trend forecaster, Lidewij Edelkoort, "which explains how trends grow, evolve and flow; helping us to better perceive and understand how they interact with our daily life."
TrendBook
TrendBook is a design trend service which includes fashion and interiors. While trend reports must be purchased, visitors can read their blog and those who are willing to provide contact information can download a library of individual trend moodboards and subscribe to a newsletter.
Trendstop Blog
Trendstop is a consumer research, trend analysis, creative concept & product development agency. Their blog provides interesting articles on trends and consumers

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Fashion Resources: Forecasting & Design Research: Database & Internet Resources: Fashion Forecasting & Trend Research

Databases and Subscription Forecasting Services

Databases and subscriptions that will assist you in fashion trending and forecasting research.

Online Fashion Forecasting & Consumer Trend Sites

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information