LibGuides: Fashion Resources: Fashion Industry Associations & News: Fashion Industry Databases, Organizations & News

Databases & Subscription Resources: Fashion Industry News and Research

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Coverage: 1886 to present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Access is available for Kent campus only.
Search a comprehensive industry-market research database which covers every US industry with a 5-digit NAICS code. IBISWorld offers also similarly detailed research on selected industries in China and worldwide.
International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
Search comprehensive histories of 8,500 of the world's largest and most influential companies, including company development and background, merger and acquisition history, impact of sales and marketing campaigns, effectiveness of executive leadership, expansions and strategies, labor/management actions, and stock exchanges.
Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides research reports covering European, U.K., and U.S. consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access news, investigations, opinion, photos, and video by the journalists of The New York Times.
Create a new NYT account:

Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass

Click "Create Account and complete registration fields

Already have a NYT Account and need to renew:

Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass

Click "Already have an account? Log in here"

Log in with existing NYT username / password.

Once you have your own NYT account, navigate directly to https://www.nytimes.com from your device (or download the app).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Uni)
Access ended June 30, 2024.
Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.
Women's Wear Daily (WWD) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to breaking news and coverage of the fashion industry. Updated daily.

Sign up via the self-registration link using your Kent State email address to read the current issue online: Register

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry Associations and Organizations

American Apparel and Footwear Association
"Representing more than 1,000 world famous name brands, we are the trusted public policy and political voice of the apparel and footwear industry, its management and shareholders, its nearly four million U.S. workers, and its contribution of $384 billion in annual U.S. retail sales."
American Marketing Association
"With over 30,000 members, the American Marketing Association brings together marketing professionals and academics from all over the world to share techniques, technology and, most of all, exciting new ideas."
Association of Textiles, Apparel and Materials Professionals
"Founded as the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC), the Association continues to evolve to meet the needs of those in the ever-changing textile and materials industries. AATCC has served textile professionals since 1921. Today, the Association provides test method development, quality control materials, education, and professional networking for a global audience."
CEW: Cosmetic Executive Women
Open to both men and women, CEW is a member organization for the beauty industry. Its website provides information on career development, job postings, events and brief consumer reports (sign up may be required to access some materials).
Council of Fashion Designers of America
"The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 500 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers."
The Fashion Group International
"The Fashion Group International is a global, non-profit, professionalorganization with 5000 members in the fashion industry including apparel, accessories, beauty and home. The FGI mission is to be the pre-eminent authority on the business of fashion and design and to help its members become more effective in their careers. To do this, FGI provides insights on major trends in person, online and in print; access to business professionals and a gateway to the influence fashion plays in the marketplace."
Fida [Fashion Illustration]
"Fida is a globally platform recognising a wide range of talent in the fields of fashion illustration, art, digital image making, moving image and commercial illustration, through awards, exhibitions, books, membership, collaborations and partnerships. The Fida membership and the Fidarts education programme, enable artists to build on their skill set, while creating industry-ready portfolios, to reach diverse audiences, agencies and commissioners."
International Textile and Apparel Association
"The International Textile and Apparel Association is a non-profit that advances excellence in education, scholarship and innovation, and their global applications."
National Retail Federation
"Our mission is to advance the interests of the retail industry through advocacy, communications and education. The National Retail Federation is the world’s largest retail trade association."
Planning and Visual Education
"PAVE's mission is to connect students, educators and professionals who support the retail industry in a vibrant, meaningful, and mentoring format."

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry News

BoF: The Business of Fashion
This site provides daily fashion news and industry insight. While access to all material requires professional membership, fashion student's are able to register for free membership through sponsorship by TopShop.
California Apparel News
This is a subscription site, however, some material is accessible to visitors. California Apparel News' website includes brief news and fashion articles, a blog and includes a trade show calendar.
Digiday
This sites provides news on the media and marketing industries, with many articles touching on the fashion industry. While a subscription is required to access some content, a great deal is available for free.
Drapers
A UK-based fashion industry news site.
Fashionista
"Fashionista is a source of fashion news, criticism and career advice with a monthly readership of more than 2.5 million. As one of the most influential voices covering fashion, Fashionista is an agenda-setter for the industry as well as influential fashion-focused consumers."
The Fashion Law
"The Fashion Law is an independent source of objective fashion law and business analysis, and serves as a community for lawyers, business executives, fashion industry insiders, and students."
Glossy
Glossy (a branch of Digiday) is “media brand exploring the intersection of fashion and luxury through the lens of digital and tech.” While non-subscribers are limited in the number of articles they can read, they can sign up to receive free daily newsletter on the fashion industry.
Just-Style
Just-style is a news service and market research site for the apparel and textile industry. Access to much of the site is through paid subscription, however, access to a limited number of monthly articles and insight pieces may be gained by registering as a free user.
MPA: The Association of Magazine Media
"The Association of Magazine Media is the primary advocate and voice for the magazine media industry, driving thought leadership and game‐changing strategies to promote the industry’s vitality, increase its revenues and grow market share." While some information is available only to members, visitors can consult past reports showing magazine rankings and many current facts about the industry.
New York Magazine: Fashion
New York magazine features extensive on-line fashion resources including news articles, blogs, and an events calendar as well as topical videos and slideshows. Street style is highlighted in the well-known Look Book link which features photographic portraits and brief interviews with stylish New Yorkers. Click on the Shows, Designers or Models links and search alphabetically to bring up helpful profile information as well as runway photographs.
The Robin Report
The Robin Report is a consulting business focusing on strategies in the new-world and old-world retail sectors and related consumer product industries. Visitors may wish search topics for frequent posts or download podcasts on the state of retailing.
What's New in Publishing
This site covers topics related to the publishing industry, including many articles on aspects of the fashion media landscape. Viewers may choose to subscribe to a regular newsletter.
WWD: Women's Wear Daily
This is a membership site, however, a few areas of the site may be accessed without subscription. KSU Fashion Design and Merchandising students and faculty have access through a limited number of seats.

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry Directories and Resources

Apparel Search
This website serves as a "directory designed specifically for members of the clothing & fashion accessories industry." The website provides links to hundreds of resources including businesses and associations (U.S. and world), schools, publications and trade shows as well as information on a variety of topics including customs regulations, care labels and clothing conversion charts.
Arts Thread
The UK-based Arts Thread website is aimed at connecting Design Arts students and graduates (fashion, craft and VC), and the creative industry. "For the first time ever, design students, graduates, universities, schools and the creative industry can network worldwide." Students may upload their visual portfolios, find basic career advice, read about exhibits and follow the blog.
FashionUnited
FashionUnited is a world-wide platform for the fashion industry including news articles, job listings, discussion groups and educational information. Visitors can register for free and receive a weekly business-to-business newsletter. This site also has a Jobs Center area, where visitors can search for positions in specific parts of the world as well as post their own CV.
Federal Trade Commission, Registered Identification Number Database
The FTC's databases allows users to search for "businesses located in the United States that manufacture, import, distribute, or sell most textile and wool products and fur clothing." Users can search by company name, product or business type.
Fiber2Fashion
Fiber2Fashion is a "business-to-business market place for the Textile and Apparel industries that facilitates sourcing and marketing requirements; carries media & research activities and provides first-hand information on various aspects of textile, apparel and fashion industry globally." Visitors can search the site's sourcing directory.
The Garment District Alliance, NYC
The Garment District NYC is a nonprofit corporation which promotes New York City's apparel industry. The website includes a map of the district, a list of fashion-related events by month, as well as an economic report for the area.
Not Just A Label
Not Just a Label is an online showcase for emerging fashion designers from over 90 countries. The site also offers designers directories of stores, manufacturers and photographers.
Sourcing Journal
An online global news and information journal for the textile, soft goods, and apparel industries.
United States Fashion Industry Association
"The United States Fashion Industry Association (USFIA) is dedicated to the removal of barriers that impede the free movement of textile and apparel products to the United States and international markets." Non-members can access older Sourcing Trends & Outlook reports for the industry.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Fashion Resources: Fashion Industry Associations & News: Fashion Industry Databases, Organizations & News

Databases & Subscription Resources: Fashion Industry News and Research

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry Associations and Organizations

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry News

Internet Resources: Fashion Industry Directories and Resources

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information