LibGuides: Public Health Policy: Emerging Issues: Research Databases and Journals

CDC Journals

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Including Recommendations and Reports, Surveillance Surveys, Supplements, and Survey of Notifiable Diseases
Preventing Chronic Disease
Emerging Infectious Diseases
CDC Vital Signs
Recent data and calls to action for important public health issues.

PubMed

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Life sciences database from the National Library of Medicine. Use this special link to see KSU and OhioLINK holdings.

Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
One-click search strategies in PubMed focusing on Healthy People 2020 objectives. Be sure to search PubMed using the special link to which displays the LinkOut icon for KSU and OhioLINK holdings!

Learn more about searching PubMed!

PubMed Quick Start Guide
From the National Library of Medicine.

Need some help searching PubMed effectively? These resources from the National Library of Medicine are just what the doctor ordered!

PubMed Quick Tours
There is a Quick Tour to solve any thorny problem that you have with PubMed!
THE PubMed Tutorial
This PubMed Tutorial shows you all you need to know! You don't have to take the entire tutorial. Click on the table of contents on the left to view the tutorial segment of interest.

Health Indicators PubMed Searches!

You can search PubMed with targeted search strategies for each of the Healthy People 2020 Leading Health Indicators!

On the Leading Health Indicators Topics page:

Click on the topical area of a particular LHI topic.
Click on the "View Details" pulldown arrow.
Click on the "Search PubMed for Literature Relating to this Objective" link to excecute a librarian-designed search in PubMed.

***Helpful Hint: In order to use Kent State University FindIt with OLinks in PubMed, you must go to PubMed using the special KSU LinkOut URL before executing the search from the LHI Topics page.

2020 LHI Topics
The Leading Health Indicators are composed of 26 indicators organized under 12 topics. From Healthy People 2020.

More Useful Databases!

Please note that if you are off-campus, you must authenticate. For more about off-campus access, read this.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Includes such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.

Web of Knowledge
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DO NOT LINK TO THIS RESOURCE. TITLE CHANGED BACK TO WEB OF SCIENCE JAN. 2014. USE ENTRY FOR WEB OF SCIENCE INSTEAD. Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews, clinical trials, technology assessments, and more.

Google Scholar
Use to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Includes articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Interface) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Help with Search Strategies

Search effectively!

Search Strategies
YOU can do precise, targeted, and comprehensive searches! From Richard Jizba at Creighton University Health Sciences Library.

Better Searching using Boolean Connectors
Tip sheet developed by a KSU librarian.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Public Health Policy: Emerging Issues: Research Databases and Journals

Find Journal Content at KSU

CDC Journals

PubMed

Learn more about searching PubMed!

Health Indicators PubMed Searches!

More Useful Databases!

Help with Search Strategies

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information