Skip to main content

Health Databases: Finding Articles

Information about how to find articles for NURS 20010.

What is a Peer-Reviewed Nursing Journal?

Peer review is the process for evaluating artcles before publication.  Journal editors send articles to scholars with similar interests or expertise who evaluate the quality of the research and its contribution to scholarship in the field. The reviewers (also called "referees") make recommendations for publication. 

About Research Databases

Research databases are online tools you can use to search for articles. They provide information about articles, books, book reviews, reports, and conference papers appearing in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Many provide full-text of the articles.  You can read, download, print, or e-mail articles directly from the computer. 

Recommended databases for Nursing are:

You might also try:

Effective Searching

  1. Identify the key concepts related to your topic.
  2. Combine key concepts using  Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT.
  3. Put quotes around short phrases that represent a single concept-- e.g."body image."
  4. Use truncation to search for words with the same root-- e.g.patholog*
  5. Evaluate search results to identify new search terms.
  6. Refine your search.
  7. Perform new searches. 

My EBSCOhost

My EBSCOhost is an option that allows you to set up a personal account that you can use to save searches and search results.  You can set up search alerts and journal alerts and add web pages to your personal folder. 

To begin click the Sign-In tab in the blue bar at the center of the web page displayed.  Then select create a new Account

Using the Journal Finder

This video shows how to use the Journal Finder to locate online full-text and in-print copies of articles. 

  Searchable Journal Collections

 The OhioLINK  Electronic Journal Center provides access to 8200+  full text research journals covering a wide range of subjects.  Download electronic articles instantly or read entire journal issues online, Create e-mail or RSS alerts for new issues, save searches, and set up automatic search alerts for new search results.

JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive of over 1000 academic journals. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are generally not available.