Finding Play Scripts

Open KentLINK.
Click on the "Author" tab.
Type the name of the person into the search box (last name, first name; e.g. Miller, Arthur).
Click on the button.
Type the name of the play in the "Words in the TITLE" search box (e.g. "Death of a Salesman").
Click on "Other Material Type" menu and select "Book" to limit to print play scripts.
Click "Submit."

Unable to find the play you’re looking for in KentLINK? Try searching OhioLINK and SearchOhio. Still no luck? Ask a Performing Arts Librarian for help.

Use the tabs above for more tips to find play scripts in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text plays available online.

Anthology of Living Theater by Edwin Wilson; Alvin Goldfarb
Call Number: PN6112 .A58 2001
ISBN: 0072317299
Publication Date: 2001
This anthology of plays includes introductory sections which acquaint readers with the process of reading a playscript. There are also notes which provide background on both the play and playwright.
Classics of the Modern Theater by Alvin B. Kernan (Editor)
Call Number: PN6112 .K42
ISBN: 9780155076549
Publication Date: 1965
The Classic Theatre by Eric Bentley (Editor)
Call Number: PQ4244.E5 B4
ISBN: 0385093853
Publication Date: 1958-1961
Masters of Modern Drama by Haskell M. Block (Editor); Robert G. Shedd (Editor)
Call Number: PN6112 .B48
ISBN: 0394406257
Publication Date: 1962
The Wadsworth Anthology of Drama, Revised Edition by W. B. Worthen
Call Number: PN6112 .H28 2011
ISBN: 049590323X
Publication Date: 2011
Offers you a bold and most distinguished introduction to drama packed with exciting plays usefully situated within their historical and cultural contexts.

Browse More Play Script Collections

The Library subscribes to a number of full text play collections. Additionally, some internet sites have classic plays freely available online.

Sign-in required from off-campus.

American Drama This link opens in a new window
Discover over 2,000 full-text plays from 1714 to present.

Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Offers the full text of all of Shakespeare's plays and poetry as well as links to other resources online.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Discover the full-text of select editions of Shakespeare, as well as adaptations and related writings, ranging from the 16th to the 19th century.
English Prose Drama This link opens in a new window
Offers the full text of 1600 plays written in prose between 1280-1915.
This source is based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
English Verse Drama This link opens in a new window
Explore the full text of over 2,200 plays written in verse by hundreds of different authors from the 13th through the19th centuries.
This source is based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.

New Play Exchange
The New Play Exchange is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers, and has over 20,000 plays. Users can discover, locate, and download play scripts.
eServer Drama Collection

Loeb Classical Library Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Virtual library of Greek and Latin literature from Harvard University Press. Includes major works of drama and comedy from the classical world.

Project Gutenberg
Women Writers Online
- This link opens in a new window
The Women Writers Online collection contains more than 320 texts published by women authors between 1526 and 1850. Search the full text of these works or browse by author/date/title.

Use the tabs above for more tips to find play scripts in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text plays available online.

Browse Our Collection

Below are general call number ranges. For a more detailed classification outline, consult the Library of Congress Classification page. For tips on searching for music items in KentLINK, consult the Finding Library Items guide.

PA3024-PZ10	theater (comprehensive range)
PN6111-PZ10	plays (comprehensive range)
PR1245-1272	period plays
Z5781	play indexes

Terms for Searching Library Catalogs

To find material on a specific topic, start a KentLINK Subject Search and type in one of these subject headings to get a list of relevant titles.

Acting
American drama
Childrens plays
Drama
Drama -- Collections
English drama
One-act plays
One-act plays, American

Use the tabs above for more tips to find play scripts in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text plays available online.

These sources can help you identify a play by subject or by cast size and other factors. Some of them also help you locate where plays are published in collected works and anthologies, which is common for short plays. Sign-in required from off-campus.

Play Index This link opens in a new window
Find full publication details needed to locate plays in their published manifestations. Searchable by title, author, subject, style, genre, cast type, and more.

Inter-Play: An Online Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
Indexes citations for international plays and playwrights in collections, anthologies, and periodicals held by the PSU Library. No longer updated as of December 2013.
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections - Ref. Z5781 .O8 2011
Indexes play titles in over 700 different collections, with appendixes arranging authors by country, racial, and ethnic group; female authors, and authors by sexual orientation.
playdatabase.com
PlayFinder (Dramatists Play Service)
Look up plays published by Dramatist Play Service with keywords and limiters by cast size/gender.
Samuel French Quick Search

Use the tabs above for more tips to find play scripts in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text plays available online.

Finding Monologues

Most monologues collections are shelved in PN2080 for easy browsing or you may search online using these tips:

Open KentLINK Advanced Keyword search.
In the first search box type the word "Monologues" and choose "Subject" for the field type.
To limit search to books, click on "Other Material Type" menu and select "Book."
Click "Submit."

To further limit your search by add these keywords:

Classical
Contemporary
One-minute
Men
Modern
Shakespeare
Women

Unable to find the monologue you’re looking for in KentLINK? Try searching OhioLINK and SearchOhio. Still no luck? Ask a Performing Arts Librarian for help.

Use the tabs above for more tips to find monologues in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text monologues available online.

Browse Our Collection

PN2071.A92	audition and monologue guides
PN2080	selections for practice (monologues)
PN4290-4305	dialogues and recitations
PN4305.M6	monologues
PR2770-2771	Shakespeare monologues
Z5781	monologue indexes

Terms for Searching Library Catalogs

To find material on a specific topic, start a KentLINK Subject Search and type in one of these terms to get a list of relevant titles

Acting -- Auditions
Dialogues
Dialogues -- Indexes
Drama -- Bibliography
Dramatic monologues
Men -- Drama
Monodramas
Monologues
Monologues -- American
Monologues -- Bibliography
Monologues -- English
Monologues -- Indexes
Recitations
Women -- Drama

Use the tabs above for more tips to find monologues in collections and anthologies, selected titles from our collection and full-text monologues available online.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Theatre Resources: Finding Play Scripts & Monologues

Finding Play Scripts

Browse Our Collection

Terms for Searching Library Catalogs

Finding Monologues

Browse Our Collection

Terms for Searching Library Catalogs

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information