Skip to Main Content

Fashion Resources: Dress & Fashion History: Databases & Internet Resources: Dress & Fashion History

Database Resources: Clothing & Fashion History

These subscription databases are available to Kent State University members to access.

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Women's Wear Daily Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Online Resources: Clothing & Fashion History

Ad* Access, Duke University Libraries
Design Center at Philadelphia University
Digital Public Library of America
Europeana Fashion
Fashion2Fiber, Ohio State University
Fashion Design History Collection, Kellen Archives Center
The Fashion History Timeline
Fashion Institute of Technology, SPARC Digital
Fashion Plate Collection, Los Angeles Public Library
Flickr, "The Commons"
more...less...
Currently users can only search through the simple search field, or browse by institution or tag. Several institutions have photographic 'sets' such as "cowgirls," "bathing beauties" and "hats" which feature fashion-related images. The images in the Commons have no copyright restrictions, however, the user should read the Rights Restrictions for each institution for more detailed information.
Gazette du Bon Ton, Smithsonian Libraries
Getty Research Portal
Godey's Lady's Book
Google Arts & Culture, We Wear Culture portal
History of Costume Index
The John Bright Costume Collection
Library of Congress, American Memory, Prints & Photographs and Other Collections
LIFE Photo Archive Hosted by Google
The Costume Institute, The Metropolitan Museum [New York]
New York Public Library, Digital Gallery
Scottish Register of Tartans
Social magazine, The Internet Archive
Textile Manufactures of India Sample Books, 1866
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS), University College for the Creative Arts [UK]
Wayne State University Libraries, Digital Dress Collection
Zandra Rhodes Digital Study Collection

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2024 1:17 PM
URL: https://libguides.library.kent.edu/dresshistory
Print Page

Subjects: Fashion Design & Merchandising