Architecture in a Climate of Change by Peter SmithIncludes new material on wind generation, domestic water conservation, solar thermal electricity as well as international case studies Architecture in a Climate of Change encourages readers to consider new approaches to building making minimum demand on fossil based energy.
Ecodesign by Ken YeangYou'll find clear instructions on how to design, build and use a green sustainable architecture in Ecodesign. Author Ken Yeang will show you how to produce and maintain ecosystem-like structures and systems whose content and outputs not only integrate benignly with the natural environment, but whose built form and systems function with sensitivity to the locality's ecology as well in relation to global biospheric processes.
Call Number: NA2542.35 .Y435 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
Integrated Sustainable Design of Buildings by Paul ApplebyIntegrated Sustainable Design of Buildings aims to provide a guide to members of design and masterplanning teams on how to deliver sustainable development and buildings cost effectively, meeting current and emerging UK and international statutory and planning requirements. Using a series of case histories and examples from the author's ten years of providing sustainability advisory services the book sets out a clear and understandable strategy that deals with all aspects of sustainable design and construction and the implications for delivery, costs, saleability and long term operation. The extensive scope includes all aspects of environmental, social and economic sustainability, including strategies to reduce carbon emissions and the impact of climate change. Integrated Sustainable Design of Buildings appeared in the Cambridge Top 40 Sustainability Books of 2010.
The Green Braid by Rafael Longoria; Kim Tanzer (Editor)This volume presents the discipline's best thinking on sustainability in written, drawn, and built form, drawing on over fifteen years of peer-reviewed essays and national design awards published by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA).
David Pearson examines environmentally aware buildings from around the world.
Biomimicry in Architecture by Michael PawlynAimed at architects, urban designers and product designers, this text looks to the natural world to seek clues as to how we can achieve radical increases in resource efficiency. It contains inspiring case studies predicting future trends
Call Number: NA2543.B56 P39 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Eco Skyscrapers by Ken YeangAcknowledging that the skyscraper is possibly one of the most ecologically unfriendly of all building types, Ken Yeang states that until an economically viable alternative is identified, it is necessary to make them as humane and as sustainable as possible. Sustainability and tall buildings - guide to making tall buildings sustainable and humane - global icons of design sustainability.
Call Number: NA6230 .Y43 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
The Ecoedge by Esther Charlesworth; Rob AdamsPresenting diverse case studies of contemporary sustainable urban practice from Europe, Africa, India, South America, the USA and Australia, this book offers the reader a fantastic wealth of practical material from a range of internationally renowned authors. Each practical case study has addressed issues and then offered solutions to implement sustainable cities across a range of urban scales and cultures. Urgent design challenges explored include population density, recreating infrastructure that supports carbon neutral or low carbon (emission) intensive urban activities, and retrofitting for sustainability.
Call Number: NA9053.E58 E23 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Design Ecologies by Lisa Tilder (Editor); Beth Blostein (Editor)Design Ecologies is a ground-breaking collection of never-before-published essays and case studies by today's most innovative designers and critics. Their design strategies -- social, material, and biological -- run the gamut from the intuitive to the highly technological.
Green Architecture by Osman AttmannWritten by an architect specializing in green materials and methods, thisGreensSourcebook presents all of the information you need to design efficient, environmentally friendly, economical, and sustainable buildings.
Call Number: TH880 .A88 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-20
The Green Studio Handbook by Alison Kwok; Walter GrondzikLearn how to integrate green strategies into your building design. This practical handbook provides an essential introduction to green design strategies – helping you to understand how to save energy, water and material resources. It provides the information required to make judgments about which strategy to use and includes tools to enable you to incorporate the chosen strategy during the early stages of design.
Call Number: TH880 .K86 2011 REF
Publication Date: 2011-07-18
Heating, Cooling, Lighting by Norbert LechnerSustainable environmental control through building design Heating, Cooling, and Lighting is the industry standard text on environmental control systems with the emphasis on sustainable design. By detailing the many factors that contribute to the comfort in a building, this book helps architects minimize mechanical systems and energy usage over the life of the building by siting, building design, and landscaping to maximize natural heating, cooling, and lighting. This new fourth edition includes new information on integrated design strategies and designing for the Tropics. Resources include helpful case studies, checklists, diagrams, and a companion website featuring additional cases, an image bank, and instructor materials. Designing buildings that require less energy to heat, cool, and light means allowing the natural energy of the sun and wind to reduce the burden on the mechanical and electrical systems. Basic design decisions regarding size, orientation, and form have a great impact on the sustainability, cost, and comfort of a building. Heating, Cooling, and Lighting provides detailed guidance for each phase of a design project. Readers will: Understand the concept of sustainability as applied to energy sources Review the basic principles of thermal comfort, and the critical role of climate Learn the fundamentals of solar responsive design, including active and passive solar systems as well as photovoltaics Discover how siting, architectural design, and landscaping can reduce the requirements for mechanical and electrical systems In sustainable design, mechanical, and electrical systems should be used to only accomplish what the architect could not by the design of the building itself. With this in mind, designers require a comprehensive understanding of both the properties of energy and the human factors involved in thermal comfort. Heating, Cooling, and Lighting is the complete, industry-leading resource for designers interested in sustainable environmental control.