SEARCH UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
The k-12 databases provide useful information for your students.
The articles normally provide readability levels. Readability level is based on the difficulty of the text and is normally reported by grade level.
Interest level is normally given by grade as well. This is which grades may find the article of interest based on curriculum areas.
These databases are designed for students in K-12. You can use them to find articles that maybe useful to students in your class or for your lesson plans.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government for Kids: Site produced by the Government Printing Office that provides information for children and young adults on issues relating to social studies.
Primary Search: Provides full text for 50 children's magazines and over 100 children's pamphlets, designed for elementary school students in grades K-5. This database now also includes the content from Encyclopedia of Animals.
Middle SearchPlus: Provides full text for over 140 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and junior high school students in grades 6-8. This database now also includes the content from Encyclopedia of Animals.
MAS Ultra: Provides full text for 460 general interest and current events magazines for high school students in grades 9-12.
Searchasaurus: A colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students in grades K-8. Provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved.This database now also includes the content from Encyclopedia of Animals.
INFOhio: Collection of over 50 research databases including over 20 EBSCO databases, Britannica Online School Edition, Literature Online and more. Also access INFOhio's library catalog to over 2,000 K-12 schools and the INFOhio Medianet collection to over 130 digital videos. Please contact Vanessa Earp, the education librarian for information about accessing the collection from off-site. Off-site access is available to College of Education students and faculty only.