SEARCH UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
There are over 100 databases available to you as a KSU student. Below are databases that contain information on education/history topics. If you are accessing the databases from off-campus you will need to login using your KSU credentials. The databases listed below are my recommendations for this particular class, you can always visit the complete listing of library databases
America: History and Life (1960-Current): Use this database to find scholarly articles and book reviews on topics in the United States and Canadian history. Searches can be limited to specific historical time periods.
American Periodicals Series Online (1741-1900): American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text.
Education Fulltext (1983-Current): Education Full-Text indexes articles from education journals. This resource is helpful in locating articles on a wide range of educational topics. There are approximately 770 journals indexed, 440 of them are peer-reviewed. This database uses an OSearch interface.
Education Research Complete: Education Research Complete is a great tool for locating professional and scholarly research on a variety of educational topics. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database uses an EBSCO interface.
ERIC (1966-Current): ERIC is a useful database for finding educational information from lots of different sources (journals, magazines, books, conferences, and governmental agencies). It contains resources dating back to 1966 and is helpful when conducting historical research in education.
JSTOR: JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years.
New York Times - Historical (1851-2006): Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format.
Professional Development Collection: The Professional Development Collection is a wonderful database to use when looking for those “how-to” articles written by practitioners.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection: The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers more than 510 full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO (1967-Current): Covers the literature of psychology and related disciplines from an extensive collection of journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations.