These subscription databases are available to Kent State University members only. Combine desired terms such as 'intersectional,' 'African American,' 'inclusivity' and 'dress,' 'fashion,' or 'clothing.' You may not need to add some search terms in databases that already have a subject focus. For example, searching 'fashion' in the Ageline database will automatically bring up articles related to Age and Fashion. Likewise, searching 'age' in the Berg Fashion Library will automatically bring up articles related to Age and Fashion.
Explore the African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.
Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include: The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
Discover more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and many rare 19th-century titles.
ARTstor is now part of JSTOR. The ARTstor platform was retired on August 1st, 2024.
Search over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images may be used in presentations for educational or other noncommercial uses.
Access peer-reviewed interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content includes reference works, articles, scholarly e-books, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and images from museums around the world.
Research the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the global news media. This collection offers a map search to focus by world region and suggested searches to guide students to pertinent topics. Coverage: 18th century-present.
Currently access is by subscription only. "The Fashion and Race Database is an online platform filled with tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system."
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums. The We Wear Culture portal allows users to explore virtual stories and exhibits which explore aspects of clothing and fashion.
Founded in 2007 by Brandice Daniel, Harlem's Fashion Row supports emerging talent and provides a platform for underrepresented African American and Latino designers.
Founded by Haitian-American designer Victor Glemaud in 2020, "the Mission of IN THE BLK collective is to unify, build solidarity and economic independence for Black individuals in the global fashion industry. Focusing on three pillars: Political, Economics, and Innovation."
"American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Search specific terms or term combinations such as 'African American' and 'Fashion' to bring up desired results.
"Often unappreciated, but never unnoticed - welcome to the show that celebrates Black contributions to fashion. Hosted by fashion educator Kimberly Jenkins, this five-part series explores moments in history when Black Americans demanded respect, challenged norms, built community and imagined the future - all through what they wore. From The Fashion and Race Database, Tommy Hilfiger’s People’s Place Program and Pineapple Street Studios."
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account