OER for Nursing

If you choose to use this text, see the Preface. The author requests notification that you will be doing so and provides a preferred link for students to access.

Multiple resources for use in EBP, including statistics, an EBP tutorial, theories, and ethics.

From the Summary: "This course will explore care coordination and navigation with older adults. An overview of the aging process will be discussed. Topics will focus on individual and family centered care issues, communication and health literacy, working with interdisciplinary teams, chronic conditions, prevention, transitions, and resource referral."

From the Summary: "This Nursing Skills textbook is an open educational resource with a CC-BY 4.0 license developed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It is aligned with the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) statewide nursing curriculum for the Nursing Skills course (543-102) that describes techniques for obtaining a health history and performing a basic physical assessment using a body systems approach. It also includes evidence-based clinical skills with related mathematical calculations and conversions."

From the Summary: "The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Using a multi-media approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement."

From the Summary: Summary: "This book teaches healthcare professionals the basics of EKG interpretation and is available as a Creative Commons resource."

From the Summary: "This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways. Key terms are set in bold throughout the book and laid out again in a Glossary in the appendix. All 88 checklists are also summarized, and hyperlinked to the original checklist, in the appendix."

From the Summary: "This open access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes. This book is not intended to be used as a drug reference book, but direct links are provided to DailyMed, which provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States."

From the Summary: "Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation."

From the Summary: "This LibGuides-based open textbook was created through a Round 13 Textbook Transformation Grant. The text covers an overview of nursing history, professional roles, professional education, legal and ethical considerations, evidence-based practice, caring, the culture of nursing, technology and informatics, and nursing theories."

From the Summary: "This text provides a pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text.

Topics covered in this text include professional nursing practice, baccalaureate education, healthcare in the 21st century, autonomy and accountability, nursing philosophy, profes- sional development, communication, interprofessional collaboration, critical thinking, introduction to evidence-based practice, and nursing leadership and theory."

From the Summary: "This book covers topics from nursing history and philosophy, communication and ethics in nursing, nursing and culture. Thus, it can be used as a guide by student nurses and working nurses to recognize the nursing profession and to keep up with current developments. In this book, you will find all aspects of nursing profession."

From the Summary: "…should be an essential component of basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an in-depth look at death and dying in this country, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families with this journey towards the end of life. The text provides a basic foundation of understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some of the main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. "

From the Summary: "This book introduces the entry-level nursing student to the scope of nursing practice, various communication techniques, and caring for diverse patients. The nursing process is used as a framework for providing patient care based on the following nursing concepts: safety, oxygenation, comfort, spiritual well-being, grief and loss, sleep and rest, mobility, nutrition, fluid and electrolyte imbalance, and elimination. Care for patients with integumentary disorders and cognitive or sensory impairments is also discussed. Learning activities have been incorporated into each chapter to encourage students to use critical thinking while applying content to patient care situations."

From the Summary: "A significant body of knowledge is the basis for a holistic, caring and scientific evidence-based nursing education in practice for professional development. Quality teaching leads to good learning and both aspects are two of the main issues of quality assurance in nursing education today. To begin with, not all nursing students have the same levels of motivation or learning abilities. It is with cognisance of providing quality care for patients that the role of the nurse educator has to be to enhance nursing students' learning using scientific evidence based teaching. Research around teaching and learning processes is an important part of the delivery of quality education, which in turn impacts on students' learning results and experiences, thereby, ensuring holistic biopsychosocial care to patients. The main aim of teaching and learning in nursing, at all levels, is to enhance the nurses' contribution to assist the individuals, families and communities in promoting and preserving health, well-being and to efficiently respond to illnesses."

From the Summary: "This open access textbook is intended to guide best practices in the journey of scholarly writing in the context of the nursing profession. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs and may also be useful for students in other health-related post-secondary programs, graduate students, and healthcare providers. The project is supported and funded by the Ryerson University Library OER Grant."