Skip to Main Content

Women's Suffrage in the United States

Women's long battle to have their right to vote recognized in the United States bore fruit in 1920 when the nineteenth amendment was ratified. 2020 represents the 100 year anniversary of this event.

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives
Accessible Archives has moved to History Commons. Access to the old platform ended August 30, 2024.
Find primary source material from throughout U.S. history, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
America: History and Life
Search an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-history to present. Coverage dates back to 1910.
American Periodicals Series Online
Scanned pages of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers from 1740 through 1940. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information for publications.
New York Times - Historical
Explore New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format.
Women's Studies Archive: Issues and Identities
Discover primary sources on the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives from the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals and more from multiple geographic regions.

Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Gender Studies Database
Search the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, and more. Coverage: 1972-present.
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
SocINDEX
Search for articles on sociology topics.
Women's Studies International
Discover journal articles in Women's Studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Scope includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Coverage: 1972-present.