LibGuides: American Academy in Brazil: Kent State University Libraries

Kent State Library

Welcome to Kent State University Libraries!

To access electronic resources through Kent State University Libraries, click on the Book icon on FlashLine as shown on screenshot below:

KentLINK E-Book Search
To limit a search of the KentLINK library catalog only to electronic books, go to the advanced search page and select "EBOOKS" as the material type before performing the search.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critical reviews of significant primary literature (1998-present) in the areas of biology, biomedicine, chemistry, physics, sociology, and related disciplines. Published yearly, this is the online, full-text version of the printed Annual Review of... series.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search the digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Contains electronic books across many academic disciplines. Books may be "checked out" for a limited period of time.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
View significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the 18th century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous 18th-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of scholarly and reference e-books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

FullBooks.com
A Web site that provides access to thousands of literary works by well know authors such as Austen, Bronte, Shakespeare, Twain, and Wharton. Also available are a selection of poems and plays, compilations, and other interesting resources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide (Information from Hathi Trust site 2/22/12). Content is wide ranging: food, religion, statistics manuals (e.g., SPSS), sleep, rap music, etc.
NCBI Bookshelf
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides biomedical books adapted for the Web. These are searchable and also linked through PubMed.

O'Reilly Online Learning (formerly Safari) This link opens in a new window
Access e-books in computer science, information technology, and related fields. Includes videos, tutorials, case studies, and learning paths.
You will need your FlashLine username and password to create an account to access the content.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature, and more.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Read the full text of important scholarly e-books from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities, law, medicine, science, and social sciences.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free full-text e-books in numerous formats, including HTML, EPUB, Kindle, and plain text.