Art History/Education/Studio Resources

Guides for supporting the various degrees offered by the School of Art include a number of art and design-related electronic research databases. Kent State University Libraries' holdings are inclusive of resources supporting research in advanced graduate programs, including education and art studio.  

Online digital image databases provide a rich selection for the study of the history of art from every period and culture. Access to full text dissertations and theses provide an invaluable basis for reviewing research done in all aspects of art history and studio, including crafts such as weaving and ceramics.

Many full-text journals in both art, education, art criticism, aesthetics and theory are also available online. Other databases in such subjects as psychology and ethnic studies are important for interdisciplinary research and can be accessed from the Alphabetical List found on the Homepage. Additionally, audio-visual resources related to art are listed at the bottom of the page.

• Alexander Street: On-demand streaming video service, includes Art and Design titles.
• Cleveland Museum of Art- Search through CMA's collections, including many open access, high resolution images of artworks
• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): A free digital library of text, images, audio and video from libraries, museums and other cultural institutions and collections from all around the United States.
• Europeana: A free digital library of text, images, audio and video from libraries, museums and other cultural institutions from Europe.
• Kanopy: On-demand streaming service, including many art-related titles. Browse by category under "The Arts"
• Library of Congress Prints and Photographs: A catalog for the collection of prints and photographs held by the Library of Congress. Many or most of these images are in the public domain and free to use. Interesting collections to explore, including the photos that were commissioned by the government under the Farm Security Administration.
• National Gallery of Art Audio and Video: Video content features the collections and exhibitions. Includes a variety of programming for artists, curators, and historians. Also includes links to lecture series.
• Recording Artists: A podcast from the Getty. Includes archival audio recordings with a number of artists such as Eva Hesse, Lee Krasner and Helen Frankenthaler.
• WikiArt- An open access database of high quality images of artwork, many of which are in the public domain. NOTE: Those that are NOT in the public domain are of a lower image quality, and cannot be reproduced for commercial purposes.
• Worldcat: A great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that show you available copies of materials sorted by distance from your location. Worldcat searches thousands of libraries’ collections from all around the world in one easy search box.