Skip to Main Content

POL 42990: Washington Program in National Issues

Newspaper Databases

Newsbank
Newsbank is a large newspaper database that has many local and regrional newspapers. Many of Ohio's local newspapers are within it. You can limit your search to a specific state if that would help you investigate your issue.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source is another newspaper database containing a large number of regoinal newspapers. The collection in this database will differ than the collection in Newsbank. If you are looking for local news reports on an issue, you should run a search in both databases.

Individual National Newspapers in Kent Library's Collection

The Washington Post
Search for your policy issue within the Washington Post as you investigate how this issue is being addressed in DC.
The New York Times
The New York Times is unofficially considered a national newspaper. They often report on issues from a national perspective, as well as, local issue relevant to New York City.
The Wall Street Journal
The WSJ covers and reports on a wide variety of issues, but they excel in reporting finanacial and economic news.

Congressional News

C-SPAN
C-SPAN was created by the cable insustry and provides "gavel to gavel" coverage of Congress. It is non-partisan and operates as a non-profit. Their website will have lots of content and articles covering activities of Congress.
CQ Magazine
Kent State has access between the years 1983 - 2015. This is a weekly publication from Congressional Quarterly (CQ) offers expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and more.
CQ Almanac
Kent State has access between the years1990 - 2014. Reference source on the annual activities of the U.S. Congress for the years 1945 to 2020. Search or browse by keyword, year, decade, or topic. Use the Policy Tracker feature to explore a specific policy topic. Includes access to tables, graphs, and charts that help explain the issues.