- Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.
- Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP)
The Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) Beta is a central hub of information, data and reports about climate change around the world. Here you can query, map, compare, chart and summarize key climate and climate-related information. (The World Bank Group)
As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
Registry of Research Data Repositories, the largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories.
- Harvard Library Open Metadata
This dataset contains over 12 million bibliographic records for materials held by the Harvard Library, including books, journals, electronic resources, manuscripts, archival materials, scores, audio, video and other materials.
The metadata has been created, acquired and modified over decades, and represents a range of cataloging rules and practices. The records have not been altered or quality-checked during the export process and are offered as is. For more information about the dataset, please see the Documentation file, below.
HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Social and political science research
- Office of Minority Health (OMH): Data/Statistics
- Statistical Databases and Data Sets - Library of Congress
An Annotated List of Reference Websites from the Library of Congress. Sets include Census Bureau data, Bureau of Justice data, HIV/AIDS Surveillance Reports, National Center for Health Statistics (CDC), and many many more.
- UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Here you will find a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
- UNSD Statistical Databases
Our work is guided by Mandate from the United Nations Statistical Commission
the apex entity of the global statistical system. The Statistics Division's mission is to advance the global statistical system. We are responsible for collecting, compiling,
classifying, publishing, and disseminating global official statistical data.
- US Census: International Programs Data
International Database (IDB), World Population Summary, Country Rankings, HIV/AIDS Surveillance, Global Population Mapping
- World Bank Open Data
World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.