This is the "Sound Recording Databases" page of the "Listen to Music Online" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Listen to Music Online  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.kent.edu/recordings Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Sound Recording Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access Status

 

Need Help?

If you need personal help, please call (330-672-2004), e-mail (performingartslibrary@kent.edu) or chat with a librarian below.

The Performing Arts Library is located at D-004 in the Center for the Performing Arts. Check our hours on our homepage.

Streaming Sound Recordings

Browse the following databases to listen to streaming sound recordings of music. To listen from off campus a VPN is required.  If encountering difficulties listening to audio tracks, update to the lastest version of your internet browser (click here for more troubleshooting ideas).
What the icon means:   = Additional Information

  • Classical Music Library  Icon  Icon
    An online streaming music service featuring classical music works from the Medieval era through the present. Recordings can be located by browsing lists or by using a search engine, and users can create and save playlists.
  • Contemporary World Music  Icon
    Contains genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and others. This database includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database.
  • Jazz Music Library  Icon
    Jazz Music Library provides a comprehensive streaming audio collection of jazz music, featuring thousands of jazz performers from legendary record labels. The database provides tracks from the early ‘20s to the present, covering all major jazz genres including swing, vocal jazz, bebop, blues, big band music, contemporary jazz, and more. It currently provides streaming access to more than 130,000 tracks, with new recordings added monthly. Access available to Kent and Stark campuses only.
  • Naxos Music Library  Icon  Icon
    The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes 1,000,000+ tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World and Folk music. Liner notes are available for some recordings. Apple & Android mobile apps available - http://libguides.library.kent.edu/StreamingAudioApps.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries  Icon
    Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
 

VPN: Off Campus Access to Licensed Resources

You will want to download the Cisco VPN, if you are accessing databases, electronic journals, ebooks and other licensed materials from off campus on your computer. The Cisco Virtual Private Network (VPN) service allows you to create a secure connection between your computer and the Kent State University network.  

Download the Cisco VPN

For assistance downloading or using the VPN contact the University HelpDesk at 330-672-HELP(4357) or or visit http://support.kent.edu.

This video below will show you how to install the VPN. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip