Skip to main content

Films in the May 4 Collection: Accessing Films, Film Footage, & Documentaries

Films in the May 4 Collection

The May 4 Collection includes very little original film footage of the Kent State shootings and related events. However, it does include a number of documentaries that have been produced in relation to the Kent State shootings. The collection also includes compilations of news coverage and recordings of annual commemorations and other special events related to May 4. These items have primarily been collected for on-site reference, educational, and research use.


To locate films within the May 4 Collection, see our Subject Index page and scroll to "Films." Click on the name of a collection listed to view its corresponding finding aid, which contains more detailed information on contents.


The main location of films, film footage, and documentaries in the May 4 Collection is the following:

Films and Videos Related to May 4 (Boxes 95-95C of May 4 Collection)

This collection contains a wide variety of films related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath. A very small number of these films have been made accessible online. If the title of the film is a clickable link (blue, underlined text), click the link to view the film.

screen shot of clickable title link

Film Footage Available Elsewhere

As noted above, the May 4 Collection includes very little original film footage. However, Special Collections and Archives can assist you in locating other repositories that contain film footage. Please contact us for help.