Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S
Includes the complete electronic editions of more than 1,500 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format. NOTE: if you are looking for current New York Times content, please consult LexisNexis Academic.
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.
The Ohio History Connection has digitized over 315,000 pages of Ohio newspapers through its participation in the National Digital Newspaper Program. This content is also freely-available at Chronicling America.
Full text access to all content from 1991 to the present, except for letters to the editor, death notices and advertising. NOTE: you must have a CPL card to access this resource -- you can apply for a card on their site: https://cpl.org/aboutthelibrary/usingthelibrary/library-cards/
Historical Plain Dealer offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Issues run from April 7, 1845 to May 31, 1991. Search by keyword, name, date, date ranges, article type and issue. NOTE: you must have a CPL card to access this resource -- you can apply for a card on their site: https://cpl.org/aboutthelibrary/usingthelibrary/library-cards/
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Covers the years 1890-1982. Excellent source for locating articles written during a specific historical period. Publications covered are largely popular titles, such as Time and Newsweek. Search by topic.
Contains listings, summaries, and descriptions of news broadcasts found in the Vanderbilt University television news archive. Segments of the evening news as well as special broadcasts covering political conventions, presidential campaigns, international events, and more are included. Names of reporters, anchors, persons involved in an event, and a summary may be searched. Major networks covered are ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN, as well as ABC's Nightline since 1989.