Kent State University Library Resources for KSUCPM: Identifying Journal Articles
Research Databases
The Libraries provide access to over 100 research databases for identifying needed journal articles. In addition to the health sciences, there are databases for nearly every field. The complete listing is available on the Libraries' homepage (http://www.kent.edu/library) on "Databases" beneath the input box.
Key Research Databases for Medicine
NOTE to PubMed users: By using the specially-configured URL for PubMed, you will be provided links to the online, full-text articles available both through KSU and OhioLINK. [This is info is repeated in the PubMed summary below].
Specialized Health Research Databases
- Complementary & Integrative HealthThe National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) provides research-based information on treatments and conditions.
- ETOH DatabaseA comprehensive online bibliographic database containing over 100,000 records on alcohol abuse and alcoholism from 1909-2004..
- Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSSR)HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Users may examine and compare characteristics of resources employed in health services research, behavioral and social sciences and public health.
- MedicLatinaMedicLatina is a database containing scientific journals and medical research from Spanish and Latin American publishers. 80 full-text, peer-reviewed journals are available via this database.
- Natural & Alternative TreatmentsThis database provides accurate, unbiased information on natural health, including herbs and supplements; conditions; drug interactions; alternative therapies; and homeopathy. These articles are entirely based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. The more than 12,000 studies have been reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists to insure the provision of reliable information without exaggeration or misrepresentation.
- PsycINFO - Current File (OSearch Interface)PsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in psychology and related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO covers journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
- PMC PubMed CentralPubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- REHABDATAREHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center and is freely available on the Web. "The main file, 1997-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities."