Searching for Visual Communication Design, VCD, Resources?
The guide for Visual Communication Design, or VCD, represents an assortment of interdisciplinary databases covering such subjects as art; advertising; design; business (merchandising and marketing); company reports; branding; publishing; census data; and environmental issues. The selection below reflects the holdings of Kent State University Libraries.
Other databases, of an interdisciplinary nature, are also important and can be accessed from the library's Alphabetical List.
Primary Visual Communication Design, VCD, Databases
Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for many periodicals and books, as well as selective coverage for a number of other publications. An image collection is also available.
Find article citations from art, architecture, and design journals from 1984 to present with select articles available in full text. Simultaneously searches Art Index Retrospective covering art and design journalism from 1929 to 1984.
ARTstor is now part of JSTOR. The ARTstor platform was retired on August 1st, 2024.
Search over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images may be used in presentations for educational or other noncommercial uses.
Search for articles on a wide range of communication topics.
Topics include applied communication, interpersonal communication, mass communication, organizational communication, group communication, journalism, and public relations.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature.
Discover over 4,500 materials by searching or browsing by category, processing, sustainability, and physical properties. Includes photographs and manufacturer contact information.
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Coverage: 1886 to present.
Find the full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues.
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Search millions of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. Includes downloadable full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Coverage: 1861 to present.
View free films, videos, and documentaries with this by-request streaming video service for educational institutions. The Kanopy platform may not be supported on some devices, such as Chromebooks and mobile devices.
You must download the Kanopy App in order to stream videos on a mobile device.
Search for academic articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of psychology and behavioral sciences. Contains full-text for some items. Coverage: 1800s to present.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account
