SEARCH UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
Alice in Wonderland books: We have a large collection of various editions of this classic work. Our collection features several illustrated and international editions. Books are cataloged in KentLINK. Please contact Special Collections for assistance.
Arnold Adoff papers: This archival collection consists largely of manuscripts and related materials from author, children's poet, and anthologist Arnold Adoff.
Babar the Elephant collection of John L. Boonshaft: A huge collection of Babar books including editions in dozens of languages. Artifacts include original de Brunhoff artwork and hundreds of quality Babar products - china, clothing, toys, furniture, games, music, etc. - dating from 1937 to the present.
Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls: Dime novels first appeared on the American literary scene in 1860 with the publication of Beadles Dime Novels No. 1, "Malaeska, the Indian Wife of the White Hunter," by Ann S. Stephens (1813-1886). Numerous dime and half-dime publications soon flooded the market. Our collection contains numerous examples, dating from 1870-1906, for a number of well-known series such as Beadles, Nick Carter Library, and the Log Cabin Library.
Kate Greenaway books: We have many examples of the publications of Kate Greenaway, a well-known 19th-century British author and illustrator of children's books and keepsakes such as almanacs and birthday books. In KentLINK, perform an author search on Greenaway, Kate, and limit your search results to Special Collections.
Virginia Hamilton books: We house numerous editions of the works of Virginia Hamilton. In KentLINK, perform an author search on Hamilton, Virginia, and limit your search results to Special Collections.
International Children’s books: 100s of books in a wide range of languages from around the world. Contact Special Collections and Archives for assistance in accessing this collection.
Juvenile Series Literature: Special Collections has a very large collection of juvenile series (e.g. Tom Swift; Nancy Drew), dating from the 1880s through the 1960s. Most of these titles are part of the Van Devier collection. In Kentlink, perform a subject search on Van Devier Collection, and limit your search results to Special Collections. Most of these titles are located at off-site storage. Please contact Special Collections for assistance.
Dav Pilkey papers: A small collection of selected manuscripts by the author of the Captain Underpants series.
Cynthia Rylant papers: This collection includes selected correspondence and manuscripts.
Saalfield Publishing Co. collection: At one time, Saalfield was one of the world’s largest publishers of children’s books. They produced a number of unique formats and types of materials including linen/muslin books; activity books; paper doll books; and many other interesting products.
View Finding Aid: http://speccoll.library.kent.edu/children/saalfield.html