LibGuides: History Databases: Databases

Try These First - United States History

Finding Articles on United States History

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American National Biography Online (ONE SIMULTANEOUS USER ACCESS) This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Includes illustrations and links to select web sites. Also includes articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History, which gives context to the lives included in ANB Online. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information, including a link to library holdings, about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.
Congress and the Nation Online
- This link opens in a new window
Congress and the Nation has been the definitive resource for researchers studying the actions of the U.S. Congress. The online edition series combines the same content from the print volumes with a number of electronic features and functionality to make navigating this immense amount of content a smooth experience.

CQ Historic Documents Series Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of each of the annual volumes of the CQ Historic Documents set. The volume for each year includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of that year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Access previous additions by clicking "See Other Editions."
CQ Press Electronic Library - all search This link opens in a new window
Searches all our CQ Press electronic resource subscriptions at one time.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covers events from the Cold War to the Viet Nam war and later. Valuable material for researching international relations, American Studies, United State foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism, and more.
European views of the Americas, 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
An index to European works relating to the Americas, which were written prior to 1750. The database is based on “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”

HarpWeek
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of Harper's Weekly, a national publication during the American Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Contains illustrations, articles, advertisements, and editorials. Search by date, keyword, literature genre, and individuals' standing in society or occupation.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables

Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints, 1796-1850
- This link opens in a new window
The Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints describes books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, from the earliest in 1796 through 1850.

New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format. NOTE: if you are looking for current New York Times content, please consult LexisNexis Academic.

Vital Statistics on American Politics Online
- This link opens in a new window
Vital Statistics on American Politics is a rich and authoritative resource of data offering more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics dating back to 1788, including: congressional and gubernatorial elections; party competition at the national, regional, and state levels; public approval of the president, Congress, and the two major political parties; the federal budget and the national debt; and election information.

World History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains references about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Aluka
- This link opens in a new window
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa, Aluka includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides. One of the site's primary objectives is to provide African scholars and students with access to scholarly materials originally from Africa.

Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary index of articles, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports, and more published in 2600 journals edited in 24 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan American issues. CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and the humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Languages covered include Spanish, Portuguese, Fre

Greek and Latin Inscriptions: Digital Squeezes
Greek and Latin Inscriptions is a collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia. The squeezes were contributed by the Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University, whose purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information about the ancient and mediaeval world.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical source for Britain and the Commonwealth, as well as time periods in which other nations were British Colonies (such as the U.S.) Includes color portraits. Also indicates where the papers of an included individual are held.