LibGuides: Biomedical Sciences Resource Guide: Reference e-Books

Biological anthropology:

Cell Biology:

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by John M. Lackie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123849328
Publication Date: 2012-12-31
Provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology.

Developmental Biology:

Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology by Frank J. Dye
ISBN: 1118196651
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
The first comprehensive reference resource focused on developmental biology terms, research, history, and people. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology.

General Interest:

A Dictionary of Biology by Elizabeth Martin (Editor); Robert Hine (Editor)
ISBN: 0198609175
Publication Date: 2004-11-18
Contains biographical entries on key scientists and comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology by Werner Dubitzky (Editor); Olaf Wolkenhauer (Editor); Hiroki Yokota (Editor); Kwang-Hyun Cho (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441998637
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation.
Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors by Elizabeth A. Martin
ISBN: 9780199545155
Publication Date: 2009-06-22
From astronomy to zoology, biochemistry to microbiology, The Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors offers a wealth of information on virtually every area of science, providing clear, jargon-free definitions of terms from physics, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, immunology, and much more. Following the guidelines of such international scientific bodies as IUPAC and IUPAP, this comprehensive work provides a style guide for the presentation of scientific information, offering clear guidance on spelling (both American and British), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Immunology:

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition by Julius M. Cruse; R. E. Lewis; Robert E. Lewis
ISBN: 9780849379888
Publication Date: 2010-08-09
A single-volume resource for the many terms encountered in contemporary immunological literature. Includes more than 1200 illustrations, ranging from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines.

Molecular Biology:

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa K. Attwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Anthony Smith; John Stirling; Frank Vella
ISBN: 9780198529170
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
A comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. Includes definitions for selected terms from Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.

Pharmacology:

Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology by Stefan Offermanns; Walter Rosenthal
ISBN: 9783540389163
Publication Date: 2008-08-14
Provides rapid access to information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology with the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects.

Biomedical Sciences Resource Guide: Reference e-Books