LibGuides: Biological Sciences Resource Guide: Finding Articles

Try these Databases First

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Find articles in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology.
BIOSIS Previews (including Biological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
An international database covering the life science disciplines, indexing nearly 7,000 journals. Updated monthly.
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free, worldwide access to 35 million citations in all areas of the life sciences including but not limited to: medicine, nursing, biological sciences, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and much more. Accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through Kent State University Libraries subscriptions.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

More Resources for Biological Sciences Research

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage dates back to 1970.
The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
AMS Journal Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse all journals and serial publications from the American Meteorological Society (AMS). Abstracts are available for most years and citations for the remaining years. Some full text is available on campus or using the KSU proxy.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critical reviews of significant primary literature (1998-present) in the areas of biology, biomedicine, chemistry, physics, sociology, and related disciplines. Published yearly, this is the online, full-text version of the printed Annual Review of... series.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Find peer reviewed journals on topics like biomedicine, earth sciences, environmental science, medicine and public health, and life sciences.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Includes over 350 journals and e-books in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
An interactive and comprehensive source of step-by-step protocols for research techniques covering the areas of cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in all areas of environmental sciences including ecology, natural resources, geography and more.
Topics covered include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, urban planning and more.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Find article citations from over 300 core publications covering horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Full text is available for select journals.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to the IEEE All-Society Periodicals, containing IEEE-sponsored journals and magazines, and IEEE Proceedings, containing the conference proceedings of all current IEEE conferences held around the world.
Published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Find articles on all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, zoology and more.

Where's the Full Text?

Have you ever been searching a database and wondered why you couldn't find the PDF of the full article? This quick video highlights ways to get the full text of journal articles.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Biological Sciences Resource Guide: Finding Articles

What the Icons Mean

Try these Databases First

More Resources for Biological Sciences Research

Where's the Full Text?

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information