LibGuides: Speech-Language Pathology Research: Evidence-Based Practice

EBP in SLP

Evidence-Based Practice Website from ASHA
Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders: An Introduction
Technical Report from ASHA.
Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders
ASHA position statement.
Getting started in evidence-based practice for childhood speech-language disorders

CATS Resources

Worksheet: The CAT -- Critically Appraised Topic
From Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries.
Developing Critically Appraised Topics
Presentation slides by Oliver Wendt from the 2006 DAAC Conference.
Critical Appraisal Worksheets
For therapy studies and more. From Duke University Medical Center Library.
Worksheet for Appraisal of a Therapy Study
How to analyze a single study. From DUMC.
Critical Appraisal Tools
Useful tools and downloads for the critical appraisal of medical evidence. Also includes CATmaker download. From CEBM.

The EBM Pyramid

Finding the Evidence

Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
JAMAevidence
Limited to two simultaneous users.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
NIH Consensus Development Program
Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)
Full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.
Campbell Collaboration
Systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare
National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
Interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment.
ASHA Compendium of EBPGuidelines and Systematic Reviews
ASHA/N-CEP Evidence-Based Systematic Reviews
ASHA's Evidence Maps
Autism, Parkinson's, and TBI.

Head, Reference Services

Vanessa Earp

Email Me

Contact:

Room 510 University Libraries

Librarian for the College of Education, Health, & Human Services (EHHS), and Academic Integrity Librarian. Associate Professor

330-672-1657

Subjects: Education, Hospitality Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Nutrition

Peer-Review

KSU Library Guide to Periodical Types
Prepared by KSU Librarian Carolyn Radcliff.
Definition: peer-reviewed scientific journal
From NCI.
What is a Refereed/Peer-Reviewed Article?
From University of North Florida.
Peer Review Subject Guide
From University of Missouri - St. Louis.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Speech-Language Pathology Research: Evidence-Based Practice

EBP in SLP

CATS Resources

The EBM Pyramid

Finding the Evidence

Head, Reference Services

Peer-Review

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information