RADT: Radiologic Technology and Imaging Science: Finding Articles

You can access KentLINK, OhioLINK, and the Research Databases from any computer with access to the World Wide Web.  Due to licensing restrictions, you will be required to authenticate yourself as a valid University user to access some resources. 

KSU Proxy allows you to connect to the campus network as if you were on campus.  When prompted you will simply need to enter your Flashline username and password. Refer to the Off Campus Access section of the Library home page.

You can also access resources with OhioLink Authentication. When accessing a database, resource or requesting materials you will be asked for your University affiliation. After selecting Kent State University you will be asked for your name and banner ID #. If requesting a physical library item don't forget to select the "pick-up" location. This is your preferred campus library. OhioLink Authentication generally logs you on for a 2 hour period of time.

Use the Journal Finder to search for full-text before purchasing articles through publisher web sites.

Research databases are online tools you can use to search for articles.

They provide information about articles, books, book reviews, reports, and conference papers appearing in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  

Many provide full-text of the articles.  You can read, download, print, or e-mail articles directly from the computer. 

Recommended databases for Radiologic Technology and Imaging Sciences include the ones listed on the "Finding Articles" tab. CINAHL is particularly important for its coverage of radiologic technology. 

To find out whether full-text copies are available online, look for the HTML or PDF full-text links or use the Find It! link. 

The FindIt link also provides information about library print holdings and includes a link for requesting copies of articles not available online.

Click here for information on Salem Campus Radiological Technology print and online journal subscriptions. 

Click here to learn to how to use the Journal Finder to find full-text, online and print journal articles from an article citation. 

This video shows how to use the Journal Finder to locate online full-text and in-print copies of articles. 

Click on the “Choose Databases” link at the top of any Ebsco database screen. 

From this list, look for other appropriate databases. Select databases by checking the box beside your choice(s).  Click the “OK” button.  

These databases provide access to special areas of health research.

Ageline On-Campus  [KSU Proxy]

AltHealth Watch On-Campus  [KSU Proxy]

Natural & Alternative Treatments On-Campus [KSU Proxy]

PsycInfo On-Campus [KSU Proxy]

Faculty in Radiologic Technology and Imaging Sciences expect you to use professional and/ or scholarly articles for many assignments.  Consumer health magazines and websites will not provide the expert, professional, research-based information they require. 

Even within the professional and scholarly literature, different kinds of articles are written for different purposes and audiences.  Contents may include news, brief research reports, editorials, letters, commentaries, and book reviews in addition to longer research studies. 

Focus on selecting the articles that best meet your information needs and satisfy the requirements of your assignment.

This tutorial from Vanderbilt University's Peabody Library explains what to look for: