RADT: Radiologic Technology and Imaging Science: General Interest
General Interest
Healthfinder is a Web site from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. It provides an extensive searchable database of reliable online health publications, clearinghouses, Web sites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers, and nonprofit agencies.
Excellent collection of quality health sites compiled by the National Library of Medicine. In addition to sources on about 500 diseases and conditions, there are "lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials." Patient education tutorials are also provided.
"This site provides health, medical, lifestyle and wellness information for all ages. In addition, there is information to prepare consumers for medical emergencies, injuries, minor medical conditions and basic first aid. There are more than 5,500 pages of content written by physicians for the general public."
"All of the information within familydoctor.org has been written and reviewed by the physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians. The information is regularly reviewed and updated." The information at the site is organized by special groups (women, men, children, seniors), the body, and common conditions. It is also searchable.
"The mission of Go Ask Alice! is to provide factual, in-depth, straight-forward, and nonjudgmental information to assist readers' decision-making about their physical, emotional, and spiritual health. Go Ask Alice! is supported by a team of Columbia University health educators and health care providers, along with information and research specialists from health-related organizations worldwide." The site provides weekly updates to the latest inquiries and responses, a search feature of the archives with nearly 1,400 previously-posted questions and answers, and "Ask Alice!" feature to ask your own question. Those making inquiries are insured anonomity.
This website from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is designed for individuals, including children and teens, and families, as well as practitioners, researchers, and educators. Information is available by health topics from A to Z or by body location or systems. A �Take a Quiz� box challenges viewers to test their knowledge with a series of constantly rotating true/false questions on hot topics such as diabetes.
Intelihealth is produced by Aetna US Healthcare and features Consumer Health Information from Harvard Medical School. The "Look it Up" section includes: drug resources, Symptom Scout, information on tests and procedures, physician and hospital locators, medical dictionary, and more. Subscribes to the HONcode principles.
An award-winning site bringing together all types of Internet resources relating to mental health (Web sites, discussion lists, newsgroups).
Resource for consumers from the National Library of Medicine that provides both easy-to-read summaries of clinical effectiveness research, as well full technical reports.
Evaluating Web Sources
- Criteria for Evaluating Web ResourcesKent State University Libraries. Includes links to evaluation forms.
Statistical Sources
Vital health statistics are not usually reported by city or smaller geographic areas. Look for information by county or state.