Skip to Main Content Academic Learning Commons/Libraries | Kent State University

RADT: Radiologic Technology and Imaging Science: Finding Web Sources

US Federal Agencies & Websites

You need to connect to the Kent State VPN to access the research databases listed on this page. Click this button for instructions. OhioLINK Authentication users can ignore this alert.

Centers for Disease Control 
This agency is charged with protecting Americans from both domestic and foreign threats to health and safety.  Its Web site provides free access to important health and safety topics, scientific articles, data and statistics, and other resources

Healthfinder
Healthfinder is a Web site from the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. It provides an extensive searchable database of reliable online health publications, clearinghouses, Web sites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers, and nonprofit agencies.

Healthy People 2020

Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
One-click search strategies in PubMed focusing on Healthy People 2020 objectives. Be sure to search PubMed using the special link to which displays the LinkOut icon for KSU and OhioLINK holdings!

MEDLINEplus
Excellent collection of quality health sites compiled by the National Library of Medicine. In addition to sources on about 500 diseases and conditions, there are "lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials." Patient education tutorials are also provided.
  
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
 

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

National Institutes of Health

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce 
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet

USAID The U.S. Agency for International Development is concerned with ending poverty and promoting the development of resilent, free societies across the world.  Web site provides news and information on global health and development issues. 

GPO Access
U.S. government publications, federal laws and regulations, Congressional documents, and more.

Global Health Resources

World Health Organization
The authority for health within the United Nations system.

Pan American Health Organization
Regional office of the WHO.

Global Health Council
The world's largest membership alliance dedicated to saving lives by improving health throughout the world.

NHLBI Global Health Resources

American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene

© 2023 Kent State University All rights reserved.