These subscription databases are available to Kent State University members only. Combine desired terms such as 'intersectional,' 'African American,' 'inclusivity' and 'dress,' 'fashion,' or 'clothing.' You may not need to add some search terms in databases that already have a subject focus. For example, searching 'fashion' in the Ageline database will automatically bring up articles related to Age and Fashion. Likewise, searching 'age' in the Berg Fashion Library will automatically bring up articles related to Age and Fashion.
Explore the African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.
Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include: The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
Discover more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. Includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states and many rare 19th-century titles.
Search over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images may be used in presentations for educational or other noncommercial uses.
Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.
Research the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the global news media. This collection offers a map search to focus by world region and suggested searches to guide students to pertinent topics. Coverage: 18th century-present
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Search the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, and more. Coverage: 1972-present
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
Discover journal articles in Women's Studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Scope includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Coverage: 1972-present
The Alternative Limb Project was founded by Sophie de Oliveira Barata, using the unique medium of prosthetics to create highly stylised wearable art pieces.
Dismantle is an online magazine that frames fashion and popular culture as tools for creative identity exploration, activism and social change. Our mission is to foster a community of collaborators and participants working together to explore how fashion and pop culture can help build healthy, creative, inclusive attitudes about appearance and identity; dig into the history, culture, and politics of mass media and the global fashion industry; celebrate sustainable, ethical consumption and production; and become active agents for social change.
Founded by Hannah Stoudemire and Ali Richmond, "Our mission is to promote equality and diversity through education and empowerment in the fashion industry."
"Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA) is a non-profit organization that aims to provide financial and business support as well as international recognition to the dynamic fashion designers in the MENA (Middle East and North Africa) region."
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums. The We Wear Culture portal allows users to explore virtual stories and exhibits which explore aspects of clothing and fashion.
Founded in 2007 by Brandice Daniel, Harlem's Fashion Row supports emerging talent and provides a platform for underrepresented African American and Latino designers.
Founded by Haitian-American designer Victor Glemaud in 2020, "the Mission of IN THE BLK collective is to unify, build solidarity and economic independence for Black individuals in the global fashion industry. Focusing on three pillars: Political, Economics, and Innovation."
"American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Search specific terms or term combinations such as 'African American' and 'Fashion' to bring up desired results.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account
