LibGuides: Shakespeare Resources: Home

Research Databases

Search these databases to find journal articles, books and book chapters on Shakespearean Criticism.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Find citations to Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly materials for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. Coverage: Early 20th century to the present.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature brings together Gale's literary databases in one search interface. Currently allows for federated searching and access to Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors and Something About the Author.

Shakespeare Quarterly
Essays and book reviews devoted to William Shakespeare published by the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Shakespeare Studies
An international volume of essays, studies and reviews dealing with the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare's production in it.
Shakespeare Bulletin
Journal of performance, criticism, reviews & scholarship.
Shakespeare Oxford Newsletter
Produced by the Shakespeare-Oxford Society. Provides news of society activities and authorship debate.

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides online access to the full-text to all 10 of the Thomson Gale Literature Criticism Reference Sets, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, etc. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical and bibliographical information.

Shakespeare Titles through our Cambridge Core collection:
This link provides a search of the criticism on Shakespeare that we have access to through the Cambridge Core Collection

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Discover the full-text of select editions of Shakespeare, as well as adaptations and related writings, ranging from the 16th to the 19th century.

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2018) This link opens in a new window
Experience landmark Shakespeare productions recorded live on the Globe stage in London

Ambrose Video: BBC Shakespeare Plays
Stream all 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC. It includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent: John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York, and Derek Jacobi.

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
View streaming video of current British theatre productions. Also includes behind-the-scenes documentaries and learning resources including introductions, plot summaries, character biographies, relationship maps, language analysis, scene studies, performance backgrounds, and historical contexts.

The Folger Shakespeare Library
Home to the world’s largest collection of Shakespeare materials. The Discover Shakespeare section provides pertinent information about his life and works, Shakespearean theaters, FAQs and links to other Shakespeare sites. Teach and Learn features lesson plans, study guides and Shakespeare for Kids.
SAA: Shakespeare Association of America
SAA is a "non-profit professional organization for the advanced academic study of William Shakespeare’s plays and poems, his cultural and theatrical contexts, and the many roles these have played in world culture." See their section on Resources: Research Links for recommended websites.
Illuminating Shakespeare
A collection of resources from Oxford University Press around Shakespeare's works and world.
Discovering Literature: Shakespeare & Renaissance
From the British Library, essays allow you to "explore the works of Shakespeare and Renaissance writers in relation to the social, political and cultural context in which they were written, and investigate the ways in which these works have been interpreted over the last four centuries."