LibGuides: Modern and Classical Language Studies Databases: Databases

Try These First

Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literature brings together Gale's literary databases in one search interface. Currently allows for federated searching and access to Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors and Something About the Author.
MLA International Bibliography
Index of scholarly materials for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. Coverage: early 20th century to present.

Translation Studies Bibliography
This growing bibliography includes more than 24,500 annotated records in the field of Translation and Interpreting (T&I) Studies.
L'Année Philologique
Core database for scholarship in the study of Greek and Roman civilization. This includes literature; linguistics; political, economic, and social history; attitudes and daily life; religion; cultural and artistic life; law; philosophy; science and technology; the history of classical studies and more.

Literary Reference Center Plus
Discover information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. This full-text database includes major respected reference works, books, literary journals, study guides, and more.

More Databases for MCLS

ARTFL Project
Explore over 3500 texts in the French language ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of prose: history, philosophy, art and literary criticism, and technical writing. Coverage: 12th-20th century.
BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation
Free index of scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpreting.
Celebrating Cuba! Collaborative Digital Collections of Cuban Patrimony
An open access digital collection that celebrates Cuban patrimony. Brings together digitized material from libraries across the globe focusing on Cuban culture, history, literature and more. Collection includes maps, legal materials, books, journals, and newspapers
Central & Eastern European Academic Source
Read the full text of publications pertaining to central and eastern European countries.
Chicano Database (EBSCO Interface)
Discover citations to articles, books, and more focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Subjects include education, arts, humanities, psychology, politics, and sociology. Coverage:1900-present.
Education Full Text
Search for articles on a wide range of educational topics. Some articles are research focuses and others are practical focused.
Education Research Complete
Find articles on a wide range of educational topics, including research articles and practical articles.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
View significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the 18th century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous 18th-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.
English-Corpora.org
Search the Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA), the largest corpora of its kind available, with over 1 billions words from a variety of texts including popular magazines, newspapers, spoken language, academic journals, and fiction. Coverage: 1990-2019.
Users must create an account for this resource.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Search for articles and special reports on topics related to education. Reports from government agencies (both state and federal) as well as professional organizations are included.
This resource is good for finding historical information on educational topics.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Find article citations from over 600 publications covering film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Full text is available for select journals.

Foreign Language Videos
Includes the ViewPoints Project, a collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers discuss aspects of their culture, family, daily life, and more. Videos are in QuickTime format and include contents, country, grammar and vocabulary notes. (NOTE: use limited to students, staff, and faculty of OhioLINK member institutions.)

Fuente Academica
Find articles in Spanish and Portuguese from 485 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. All major subject areas are included. Coverage: 1920s-present.
Greek and Latin Inscriptions: Digital Squeezes
Greek and Latin Inscriptions is a collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia. The squeezes were contributed by the Center for Epigraphical and Paleographical Studies at The Ohio State University.
Loeb Classical Library Digital Edition
Search and read Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations. Also classifies each work by language, form, genre, subject, and date.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Directory of 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. Provides addresses, advertising rates, circulation stats, submission information, acceptance rates, and timelines for publication.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO Interface)
Describes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe Ñ books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Updated bimonthly.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
A comprehensive digital library of Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE. Browse more than 12,000 works from 4,000 authors. You can also search for specific Greek words and read texts in original Greek.
First-time users need to register for an account in order to gain access to the full corpus. Click "register" link in upper right.

Vente et Gestion (French Business Source)
Full-text coverage for French language business journals. Includes articles on accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology.

Interdisciplinary Databases of Possible Interest

Academic Search Complete
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
See entry for Web of Science Core Collection.
Citation Indexes
Multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering the journal literature in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global)
Search millions of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. Includes downloadable full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Coverage: 1861 to present.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK ETD Center)
Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students. Includes links to full-text.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Search the full text of over 11,000 academic journals covering arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts
Find citations of academic historical journals covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
Humanities International Complete
Find article citations from over 1,900 publications containing articles, essays, reviews, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Includes full text for hundreds of journals, books, and other publications.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature.

WorldCat
Contains records to over 100 million items in most (if not all) subject areas. Materials may include books, computer data files and programs, films, journal and magazine titles, newspapers, manuscripts, musical scores, and more. Not included are individual articles, stories, or book chapters. Updated daily.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Modern and Classical Language Studies Databases: Databases

Other Databases & Resources

What the Icons Mean

Librarian for Language and Literature

Try These First

More Databases for MCLS

Interdisciplinary Databases of Possible Interest

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information