This is the "Home" page of the "Colloquium Series: Events & Speakers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Colloquium Series: Events & Speakers  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.kent.edu/colloquium Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Help?

If you need personal help, please call (330-672-2004), e-mail (performingartslibrary@kent.edu) or chat with a librarian below.

The Performing Arts Library is located at D-004 in the Center for the Performing Arts. Check our hours on our homepage.

 

What's in this Guide

Colloquium Series LogoThe Performing Arts Library Colloquium Series explores a broad range of topics in music, theatre, and dance. We encourage participation from faculty, students, scholars, and community members.  Contact library staff if you are interested in participating in the series.

Excellence in Research Awards, which include cash prizes, are available for undergraduate and graduate students.  Award winning papers are published in the journal, Excellence in Performing Arts Research.

Fall 2014 Events

Tuesday, November 25, 4:30-6pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

Maintenance of Slovenian-American Polka Tradition in Cleveland
Will Bulger

The Role Music Stores Play in the Musical Life of a Community: Woodsy’s Music Store in Kent
Guangci Yang

Preserving Tradition and Revival: A Southern Ohio Indoor Music Festival
Paisley Stovall

Presenter abstracts and bios

Monday, December 1, 4:30-6pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

Philosophical and Psychological Perspectives on Music Teaching and Learning
Kristin Coen

Unfamiliar Territory: The Role or Health, Wellness, and Democratic Practices for Music Educators
Christopher Williams

Choral Repertoire Selection Practices and Methodology for Music Educators: a Literature Review
Bryan Helsel

Presenter abstracts and bios

Tuesday, December 2, 4:30-6pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

“But this isn’t a high school choir”: An examination of the role and purpose of the middle school choral program
Jonathan Saeger

A Place on the Podium: Sociological Factors Influencing Female Band Directors and Their Practice
Kristin Coen

Minding the Gap: Perspectives on Connecting Students’ School and Non-School Music Experiences in the Elementary General Music Classroom
Bea Olesko

Presenter abstracts and bios

Thursday, December 4, 1:30-3:30pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

Digital Sound and Cultural Influence: Contemporary Native American Music
Paisley Stovall

The Multinational Influence and Marketing Strategy of Disney Movies Soundtracks: Aladdin, The Lion King, Mulan, The Little Mermaid, and Frozen
Guangci Yang

The Changing Function of Clave Shows Defined Nature of Musical Elements
Mo Li

Examination of Popular Music and Controversy: Marketing Ploy or Artistic Advancement?
Deanna Nebel

Presenter abstracts and bios

 *Titles, bios and abstracts TBA

 

Past Events:

Tuesday, November 18, 4:30-5:30pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

Fostering Intercultural Spaces and Contact Zones
Samuel Boateng

Waulking Songs: A Scottish Tradition in North America
Julie Kennedy

Presenter abstracts and bios

Wednesday, October 22, 4-5pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

The Uncertain Musical Evidence in Thai Temple Murals
Dr. Terry Miller

Presenter abstract and bio

Monday, October 13, 4:30-5:30pm (Flashperks Event: 100 points)

The Legacy of Arleen Auger
Alanna Furst

Lily Pons: The Littlest Lakmé
Rosemary Heredos

Jamie Barton, American mezzo
Hannah Jencius

Presenter abstracts and bios

 

Click here to view information on the 2013-2014 Excellence in Research Award winners.

Click here to view information on past events and speakers.  Please use the tabs to navigate through the abstracts and bios of past presenters.

 

Did you Know?

  • There's an APP for that! - Naxos Music Library has created an APP for the iPhone and Android.
  • Classical Music Library has a new classical music work available for free download each week!
  • The Performing Arts Library has Group Study Rooms equipped with audio and video equipment and Internet access are available for reservation.
  • Research Help is available to students in the Performing Arts Library at three specific times each week or by appointment.
  • The Writing Commons on the 4th floor of the Main Library provides assistance with any writing project.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip