Occupational Therapy Assistant: Evidence-Based Practice : Research Databases
Quick Research Tips
Be Smart and Save Time!
- Do not use sentences to search for information. Try using keywords and phrases.
- Before you search a research database, think about alternative search terms (e.g. adolescents, youth, and young adults).
- Keep notes on the research databases and the keywords you have used.
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
- Quotes are helpful when your search terms include a phrase (e.g. "occupational therapy").
Research Databases
Use research databases to search multiple journal publications.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFind articles on nursing and allied health topics including physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies and more. Also includes evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments records.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowFind articles from 255 journals, some peer reviewed, on a variety of health-related topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, nursing management, medical law and more.
-
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFind articles from over 2000 journals on topics including nursing, medicine, pre-clinical science, health policy, and biomedicine.
-
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowThis is an exclusive collection of more than one hundred full-text journals published by LWW in nursing and related fields. On campus only.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowPopular multi-disciplinary resource with access to over 40,000 scholarly articles.
Search Log
The use of a search log is a helpful tool when conducting a literature search. This search log, based on the PICO model, will help you organize your search terms and database selection.