Occupational Therapy Assistant: Evidence-Based Practice : OT Evidence Based Practice
OT Seeker Tutorial
Includes an overview on the features of the OTseeker and how to use the database.
Evidence-Based Resources
- OTseekerAbstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions.
- PEDroFree database of over 22,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.
- AOTA's Evidence-Based Practice & ResearchEBP resources and tools including evidence based practice publications by topic. Some information available only to members.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of several databases including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and topic-specific special collections.
Defining Evidence-Based Practice
"Evidence-based practice entails making decisions about how to promote healthful behaviors by integrating the best available evidence with practitioner expertise and other resources, and with the characteristics, state, needs, values and preferences of those who will be affected. This is done in a manner that is compatible with the environmental and organizational context Evidence is comprised of research findings derived from the systematic collection of data through observation and experiment and the formulation of questions and testing of hypotheses".
Evidence-based practice model is a step-by-step process.
- Ask important questions about the care of individuals, communities, or populations.
- Acquire the best available evidence from professional studies and sources regarding the question.
- Critically appraise the evidence for validity and applicability.
- Apply the evidence by engaging in collaborative health decision-making with the affected individual(s) and/or group(s). Appropriate decision-making integrates the context, values and preferences of the care recipient, as well as available resources, including professional expertise.
- Assess the outcome and disseminate the results.
Note: Studies and sources that are selected as being of the highest level of rigor, quality and clinical relevance are recommended for use as “evidence” to inform practice, along with clinician experience and client values, beliefs and preferences.
Sources: AOTA. (2011). Evidence-Based Practice Resources, Retrieved from http://www.aota.org/Educate/Research/2011-EBP-Resources.aspx?FT=.pdf, EBBP. (2007). Defining Evidence-Based Behavorial Practice. Retrived from http://www.ebbp.org/ebbp.html, EBBP. (2007). Steps for Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice. Retrived from http://www.ebbp.org/steps.html
How to connect with the evidence?
OTs and OTAs are eager to provide effective services that are client-centered, supported by evidence, and delivered in an efficient and cost effective manner.
Ways to Connect
- Understand how to find literature relevant to addressing clinical questions by using easy-to-access evidence-based research and resources.
- Develop critical appraisal skills.
- Learn how to appraise the literature once it is found.
Source: AOTA. (2011). Evidence-Based Practice Resources, Retrieved from http://www.aota.org/Educate/Research/2011-EBP-Resources.aspx?FT=.pdf