Marnie Ellis College Research Writing: Assignment 4
Assignment #4
Library Catalog
Search KentLINK, the online library catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, DVDs and other resources. Search all the materials available in the KSU library system. For advanced catalog searching click here.
Use OhioLINK to find and request materials from other academic libraries in the state of Ohio. Click here for more search options.
Explore the collections of 19 public libraries using SearchOhio. For advanced searching options click here.
Where to Find Ghost Stories
- Project GutenbergFree online database of works that are in the public domain. Downloadable and viewable on a variety of mobile devices.
- Gaslight Discussion GroupOnline collection of short stories. Searchable by author.
- Classic Ghost Story AnthologiesSearch KentLINK, OhioLINK or SearchOHIO. Anthologies of classic stories may include a story or stories by your author. Many have introductions and brief biographies. This is useful information for your paper.
- Ghost Stories by AuthorFind ghost stories by your chosen author. Try using the resources available in the library catalog box or try finding your materials from your local public library.
Research Tips & Tricks
Have you chosen an author that writes in multiple genres? Try a library catalog advanced search and limit your search by author and subject.Example: Find ghost stories written by Elizabeth Bowen in OhioLINK
- Use the Advanced OhioLINK Search option
- Type Elizabeth Bowen and choose Author/Creator from the "in this field" section.
- Type ghost stories and choose Subject Headings from the "in this field" section.
- Click the Submit button.
- Search results contain three ghost story anthologies with short stories authored by Elizabeth Bowden.Glance at the Table of Contents section to find the short stories.
Research Materials
Biographical and critical sources all need to come from credible newspapers, books, magazines, or journals (even if you use a website or database to locate them)-you're following the same standards in selecting them as you used in finding your article for assignment #1.
In your individual paper, you must use at least three sources, plus your primary source (your short story).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
- America's News This link opens in a new window Complete electronic editions of more than 1,500 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Uni) Access ended June 30, 2024.Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.
eBook for Assignment #4
Click on the book title then click on "Connect to resource. Access available to all Kent State University campuses" to access this eBook.
Suggested Ghost Story Authors
Many of these authors wrote in more than one genre.
Focus solely on their ghost stories and work in closely related genres.
- Gertrude Atherton
- Algernon Blackwood
- Ambrose Bierce
- Louisa Baldwin
- Elizabeth Bowen
- Mary Elizabeth Braddon
- Rhoda Broughton
- Charles Dickens
- Daphne DuMaurier
- Amelia B. Edwards
- Elizabeth Gaskell
- Henry James
- M.R. James
- Vernon Lee
- J. S. LeFanu
- H. P. Lovecraft
- E. Nesbit
- Margaret Oliphant
- Oliver Onions
- Edgar Allen Poe
- Charlotte Riddell ( J. H. Riddell)
- May Sinclair
- Bram Stoker
- Edith Wharton
- Mary E. Wilkins (Freeman)