Criminal Justice: Articles
Where do I find an article?
Articles are found through Kent's databases. Each database contains hundreds of journals.
If you want to see all of the databases available through Kent take a look at the A to Z listing of databases.
If you need help navigating all this, please stop by the library and we will be glad to help you find what you need.
How do I know if we own a specific periodical (magazine or journal)?
If you're not in a database, but you know the journal your article is in, try:
- Our E-Journal Finder to see if we own the journal electronically. Be sure to look at the dates available!
If you have the full article citation, you can also try OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup to see if we own it!
Can I get an article that the library doesn't own?
Visit our article request form to request an article Kent State does not own. We'll see if we can find it for you at another library.
Finding Articles the Easy Way with Subject Guides and Course Guides
Including articles in your research is essential. For basic research use a subject guide or course guide to find the right database for your needs.
Subject guides- Did you know Kent subscribes to over 200 different databases? These guides help you choose the best database to search by subject. (For instance, if you are in a biology course you choose the subject guide for biology and we provide you a choice of several databases specializing in articles concerning biology topics.)
Course Guides- Course guides are developed for specific courses and point you directly to the resources you'll need to complete the research needed for your course.
Where can I get help searching for articles?
Many databases provide tutorials that can help you learn to use them like a pro! Check out the ones below:
EBSCOHost Tutorials
EBSCOHost is a platform that we use to search many databases, including Academic Search Complete. These tutorials will teach you tips that you can use in any EBSCOHost database.
Note: Although these tutorials have sound, they are closed-captioned and can be used without audio.
- Advanced Search - Learn how to use limiters to get a great search in any EBSCOHost database.
- Results List - You've done a search - now do some limiting in the results list.
- Using Search History - Learn how to save searches, combine searches, edit searches you've already done, and more!
- My EBSCOHost - Did you know that you can sign in to save searches, article lists, and more? Learn how!
- Mobile - Want to search using your phone? Learn how!
Database Tutorials
The following tutorials are for the tools and tricks of specific databases.
- CINAHL: Searching - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- Consumer Health Complete: Searching - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- ERIC: Tutorials on varying topics - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- JSTOR: Basic Searching - This tutorial requires audio.
- JSTOR: Advanced Searching - This tutorial requires audio.
- LexisNexis: Working with results - This tutorial does not require audio.
- Literary Reference Center: Searching - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- MEDLINE: Searching - This tutorial has sound, but is closed-captioned and does not require audio.
- Naxos Music Library: Overview and Basic Searching - This tutorial requires audio.
- PubMed: Tutorials on varying topics - These tutorials have sound, but are closed-captioned and do not require audio.
- Web of Science (ISI): Searching - This tutorial requires audio.