NURS 20010: Interpersonal and Communication Skills For Health Care Professionals: Ebsco Nursing Databases

Ebsco Databases can be search individually or as a group. When searching as a group some limiters may be eliminated however, general keyword searching remains functional between databases.

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text-- Provides access to nursing and allied health literature and information, including such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.

Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition)-- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

MEDLINE (PubMed)-- (This link goes to the NIH website but a combined search in Ebsco will also search the resources).  PubMed provides free, worldwide access to MEDLINE. Accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through Kent State University Libraries.

MEDLINE Complete-- MEDLINE Complete provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. Provides full text access to over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Also Available:
 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection-- The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Health Source (Consumer Edition)-- This database covers many consumer health topics involving the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It features searchable full-text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

Consumer Health Complete-- Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. It also includes revised information on FDA changes.

Searching can be enhanced when several databases are combined to search multiple databases in similar fields at the same time.

Select an Ebsco database to begin. Click on "Choose Databases"

1. Select the databases you want to include in your search.
2. Click "OK" to combine database searching.