ENG: Literary Criticism: Web Resources

Whenever you are using web-based resources, you must be careful to evaluate the content of those sources and who has authored them. If the site comes from a university or other learning institution, it will likely be more reputable than a site from an unknown author.

Many of the best sites will provide links to where they got their information or other related appropriate resources. Mining these links can be extremely valuable and often lead to first-rate materials.

Also, just like any resource you use, you must be careful to site your source. Since many web URLs change, you want to note the name of the site and the date you accessed the information as well as the web address.

The following is a list of web sites from reputable sources that will help you to understand many types of literary criticism and help you to write some of your own:

"An Introduction to Literary Theory" defines the different theories and provides links to addition information.  A great place to start to get a quick overview of the topic.

http://www.txt-free.com/library/literary-theory.php

ipl2 is hosted by The iSchool at Drexel, College of Information Science and Technology, with major support from the College of Information at Florida State University. Sponsored by Intel and Sun Microsystems.

http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

This site provides a fantastic overview of literary theory and criticism with suggestions on how to read and write and various genres. There is also a list of linked resources at the bottom of the page.

http://www.textetc.com/criticism.html

This is a link to the 25 Best Literary Criticism Blogs from mastersdegree.net.

http://www.mastersdegree.net/blog/2011/25-best-literary-criticism-blogs/

This short article on “Signs, Symbols, Meaning, & Interpretation” is a great place to get started if you are new to literary criticism.

http://web.mst.edu/~gdoty/classes/concepts-practices/symbolism.html

This professor’s web page provides a detailed overview of the various types of criticism and how to use them.

http://www.kristisiegel.com/theory.htm#psycho

This multi-lingual site provides a bibliography of literary theory, criticism and philology and is full text searchable.

http://www.unizar.es/departamentos/filologia_inglesa/garciala/bibliography.html

This site on approaches to literary criticism provides the user with a great list of questions to ask when approaching any literary project.

http://www.ci.maryville.tn.us/mhs/studyskills/compguide/applitcrit.htm