Insurance Studies Research: Research Databases

Research databases are article and information search engines. 

They may be accessed from an A-Z alphabetical list (if you know the name of the database you wish to use) or from the Databases by Subject list (the preferred method if you are not quite sure where to start). 

You can also access these database lists from the University Libraries homepage, which you can quickly navigate to by logging into FlashLine and clicking on the small book icon that sits next to the email icon in the upper right-hand corner of the page.

For locating articles and research in insurance studies, you could begin by working with some of the research databases included in the Business, General Interest, and Law subject guides.

The Business subject guide, for example, is broken up into three sections with databases linked under each section:

• Try These First (the best business databases)
• Interdisciplinary Databases of Interest (general interest)
• Research Databases for... (business-related databases, such as Accounting, Finance, and Marketing)

Within these sections, the databases are listed alphabetically; they are not sorted by importance.

• Academic Search Complete - Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
• Business Source Complete - Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Coverage: 1886 to present.
• Risk Management Reference Center - Access a resource for corporate risk management professionals, strategic planners, and business students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and more.
• OhioLINK's Electronic Journal Center - The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
• WestlawNext Campus Research - Provides full-text access to legal, news, and business-related research, including access to a number of Ohio newspapers such as the Toledo Blade and the Youngstown Vindicator.

Research databases are article indexes that contain valuable and scholarly information that is not available on the Web for free.  Kent State University and University Libraries purchases or subscribes to these databases so that students can access this high-quality information without having to pay to access articles of interest.  You could Google your research topic, and you might find what look like great journal articles in your search results, but when you try to access those articles you are typically taken to a publisher's website and asked to pay to view and download the article(s). 

You do not need to -- and should not -- pay to access academic and scholarly articles necessary to completing class research projects.  Use the research databases (and other library resources) instead!

In order to use the research databases utilizing Kent State University's access, please make sure you are doing so by either using the links provided in this LibGuide or via the University Libraries homepage.  If you Google a database rather than accessing it through KSU, you will be prompted to 'sign in' and 'subscribe' to the database, which, again, is not necessary.