Insurance Studies Research: e-Journals and Web Resources

Simply put, you can utilize a research database to search many journals all at once for articles on a specific topic.  Each of our research databases pulls its information from different collections or pools of content.  There is some overlap in content between many of our databases, but it is always worthwhile to run a search for your topic in more than one database to see how many different search results you get.

In addition to our research databases, we also have electronic or online access to many individual journals.  This is particularly useful to know if you are interested in reading subject-specific journal from cover to cover OR if you have been tasked with locating articles for a research assignment from one or more specific publications. If that is the case, it is much more efficient to access the journal(s) in question directly.

To search for individual journals, you can use our Journal Finder.  You can type in the full title of a journal to what kind of, if any, access we have to it.  The Journal Finder not only tells you what kind of access we might have to a particular title (e.g. print and/or online), it will tell you the years of coverage available and provide you with links to access the journal electronically, if applicable.  You can also search for journals on a topic or with a specific word in the title, like "insurance" or "risk management."

Remember: You use the research databases to search for articles on a topic.  You use the Journal Finder to search for (by title or subject) access to entire publications.

Below you will find links to a number of journals related to the insurance and risk management industry.  In most cases, you can view entire issues of each journal or search within each publication to find articles on a certain topic. 

This is by no means an exhaustive list, and you can certainly search for more journals using the Journal Finder. These are, however, journals that we continue to have current access to.  

• Insurance Advocate
• Journal of Insurance Issues
• Journal of Insurance Regulation 
• Insurance Markets and Companies (Open access journal)
• The Journal of Risk and Insurance (OhioLINK EJC)
• Risk Management and Insurance Review (OhioLINK EJC)
• The Geneva Risk and Insurance Review (OhioLINK EJC)
• The Geneva Papers on Risk and Insurance (OhioLINK EJC)
• Insurance Mathematics and Economics (OhioLINK EJC)

In addition to journal articles, certain web resources can be helpful during the research process.  Two things to be mindful of when using web resources:

• Unlike with academic journal articles, you need to evaluate a web site or other resource much more thoroughly to make sure it is accurate, reliable, professional, and meets the requirements of the assignment.
• Web sites, industry magazines, and media channels can be great sources of supplemental information and industry/professional news for a project, but they do not take the place of scholarly or research-based journal articles.

Here is a short list of some risk management and insurance-related web resources:

• Business Insurance | News for Insurance Professionals
• Risk & Insurance Magazine - Some information on this site might require a subscription to access.
• National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
• Insurance Journal | Property Casualty Insurance News
• Insurance Nerds | Insuring Tomorrow