Finding Articles : Article Databases
What is a database?
What is a database and why should I use one?
A library database is an online collection of sources, usually these are academic articles, news articles, and magazine articles, but they can also contain e-books, encyclopedia entries, digital films, and more.
Library databases provide students and researchers with access to credible and reliable information for their studies and projects.
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Explore controversial issues from multiple perspectives. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Supports browsing by topic and keyword search.
Subject Databases
Subject Databases are excellent to use in addition to the above databases for your speech assignments.
- Anthropology & Sociology
- Art & Architecture
- Biological Sciences
- Business
- Chemistry
- Communication Studies
- Education
- English
- Foreign Languages
- Geography
- Geology
- History
- Journalism & Mass Communication
- Justice Studies
- LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Studies)
- Math & Computer Science
- Music
- Nursing & Medical Resources
- Philosophy
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Science & Technology
- Sociology (see Anthropology & Sociology)
- Theater
- Women's Studies
Journal Finder
- Journal FinderSearch for publications by title.
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary LoanLibraries all over the world participate in Interlibrary Loan (ILL) in a cooperative effort to provide articles, books, and other materials to researchers, students, and others.
Free-of-charge Interlibrary Loan and electronic article delivery are offered to all current Kent State faculty, staff, and students. Community Borrowers and Alumni will be charged $10 per filled request.